RSS

Tatting

13 Jan

A friend and I have been discussing crafty things recently and she’s inspired me to pick up my tatting again.

I began teaching myself how to tat several years ago after another friend asked me to find a tatted cross pattern on the internet.  At the time I had never heard of tatting and as I searched I saw some truly beautiful designs.  My friend said that it was a fairly easy skill once you’ve mastered the basics so I took to the internet once again and started searching for how-to sites.  I bought myself a shuttle and some crochet cotton and got to work learning this interesting skill.

Tatting has been a great craft choice for me.  I’ve been able to teach myself without classes or experts.  The materials and tools are extremely cheap.  All you need is crochet cotton, a couple of shuttles, a pattern (which can be found for free online) and some little beads if you want to add those.  Your projects take shape quickly and can be completed in only a few sittings.  I’d get frustrated and bored if I had to work on a project for months.  It’s also a convenient hobby.  You can easily pop it into your purse and bring it with you.  It takes up hardly any space at all and doesn’t need special treatment.  Plus it’s different and a great conversation starter.

Above you can see my current project.  A simple bookmark.  I’ve had to go right back to the basics to reteach myself the skill since it’s been a few years since I’ve done any tatting.   It took me a whole night to figure out how to start off again and create a simple ring and chain but after I got the set up started my hands quickly remembered what to do even if my head was foggy about it all.

This is a close up of my work.  Yes I’m truly an amateur.  My picots (loops for decoration and joining) are too big and inconsistently sized, my joins are shonky too and my tension is all over the shop.  But you have to start somewhere.

This is the shuttle that is the main tool in tatting.

You wind your thread onto the little bobbins that’s kept in the middle.

Here’s a picture of a beaded cross from the pattern that started my interest in tatting.

Tatting is how I’ve been keeping my hands busy recently.  My hubby can’t understand how I can watch something on the tv and be doing something else at the same time.   But I can’t seem to sit happily without something for my hands to do.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2009 in Family Life

 

2 responses to “Tatting

  1. Susan

    January 13, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Now you've inspired me to further craft activity. Looks like it might be a great skill to teach my girls- once i've learnt it myself!

     
  2. Anonymous

    January 15, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    How do you find the time to do this, Tracey!
    Looks very cool : )
    Courtney.

     

Leave a Reply

 
