RSS

Do they really look a lot alike?

03 Feb
Strangers are always asking us how old our “twins” are.  I answer “5 and 7”.  But we’ve also had people (the boys’ gymnastic’s  coach was the latest), who’ve interacted with the boys for well over a year, ask, “How old the twins are?”.  Surely they don’t look THAT much alike, aside from their brotherly good looks.

Today the boys decided that they were going to dress like twins.  Yes they do have a lot of the same outfits as I find it hard to find appropriate clothing for them so when we find something nice, particularly for “at home” clothes, I’ll buy two.  But generally they aren’t dressed alike when they go out.My “twins” had the greatest plan to outwit me today…or so they thought.   When I called “Ethan” I got “Brayden” and when I called “Brayden” I got “Ethan”.   I just had to be one step ahead of them (isn’t that the key mothering skill?) and remember to call the opposite child that I wanted.  They didn’t want to play with me then because I spoiled all their fun.  But really…can I have the 5 year old doing the 7 year old’s schoolwork??  I know the 7 year old was quite hopeful about the situation but the 5 year old was looking a bit concerned.

Double trouble they can definitely be but “twins” they are not.

Update:  The boys decided to get changed out of their matching outfits and add extra washing to my laundry basket.  Their reasoning – they didn’t want anyone to get confused.   I just have to shake my head.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 3, 2009 in Family Life

 

One response to “Do they really look a lot alike?

  1. dawnee

    February 3, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    That is so funny. The same thing happens to me all the time. My boys are also 5 and 7, at that a small 5 and a big 7. They do look alike, but certainly not like twins. What is up with that?!

     

Leave a Reply

 
