RSS

My Best Piece of Advice for a New Homeschooler…

28 Apr

Aussie Homeschool Blog asks, “What is your best piece of advice for a new homeschooler?”  I would have to answer, “If in doubt, read.  If not in doubt, then read then too”.

New homeschooling parents want to know, “What do I do? And I need to know right now”.  It’s probably unwise to put them on the path of various curriculums and providers.  It’s all too much at first.  I also promise that most people will change their beliefs about homeschooling once they start getting their hands dirty and realise that there are a lot of different approaches to teaching our children.  Consequently, buying curriculum is an expensive exercise for new homeschoolers if they change their mind about their homeschooling approach a few months down the track.

My answer to  “What do I do?” is read – read to your children.  There’s nothing wrong with spending your day being together, exploring, creating, answering questions and reading books aloud.  Read the books they bring you to read, select books to read aloud to them and make sure there are plenty of books available for them to read and look through.  Don’t just read one or two books, read piles of books and not just picture books.  Read novels that challenge them.  Answer their questions by finding books to read.  Take trips to the library, the book stores and second hand stores.  Make sure Mum AND Dad are reading aloud to the children.  This is particularly important for your sons.  If all you do is read for a year I guarantee you are giving your children a wonderful education.

Read to yourself as well.  Read about homeschooling.  There are sooo many wonderful titles.  I haven’t yet tired of reading about homeschooling (even if my hubby’s wallet has 🙂 ) .  It pumps me with enthusiasm, fresh approaches and ideas.   Read about lots of different homeschool styles and not just the ones that you think will appeal to you.  There are gems to learn from each homeschooling approach.  It’s also important to understand why people choose the approaches they do.  By reading about approaches that aren’t your own you can better appreciate the diversity of the homeschooling community and understand why people do what they do.  That’s advice for new homeschoolers and seasoned homeschoolers.

So there you have it in a nutshell:

“Reading is the answer to most questions I need answers to” which of course means that the answer to most problems is

Buy more books🙂On that note, I’m off to solve the problems of the world at Amazon.com 🙂

 
 

2 responses to “My Best Piece of Advice for a New Homeschooler…

  1. sixhotpeppers

    April 28, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I have to agree about the reading. I only wish I would have realized it in the beginning of my homeschooling. This school year, for the first time, has been filled with more reading and books. I also love reading for myself and have any 'homeschool' book I can get my hands on 🙂 My newest ones are the 'What Your ___ Grader Needs to Know' series. I only wish I had them sooner. Anyway, nice post! Thanks…

     
  2. Sheri

    April 29, 2009 at 7:54 am

    You are so right. When I started, I scoured every library in our area and read whatever book was available-even if it only had the word home school in it! I read, read and read some more. I only bought the ones that I just loved, and/or needed for further reference. I like a lot of the goodies you have in your post on what you have-man-I wanna come and play with them! LOL..seriously tho, one needs to build their collection over time, spend wisely and make choices on items that speak to their family-not because everyone else has it. You made some great buys…I also have the blocks (ones, tens, hundreds, thousand block) the boy played with all these years and will finally be using on a reg. basis to learn the place value and such. I shop dollar stores too-cuz you just never know what you'll find!
    Have a wonderful day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
