RSS

Mr Slug Comes to Visit – Truly Gross Content

24 Jun

This little fellow slid across my path this morning while I was hanging washing on the line.  It was the first time the boys had seen a slug so of course we scooped him up into a dish, read about him in “Wonderland of Nature”  and then observed him under the computer microscope.  (We LOVE our microscope!)

So here is our little slug close up.  Cute isn’t it…okay…maybe not.

And its little slug foot.

This is an extra close up from underneath, viewing his feelers (shorter stubs) and eye stalks (longer).

Here is its silvery slime trail.  A little gross huh…well hold onto your hats.  The worst is yet to come!!!!

You might want to avert your eyes if you are squeamish.   This next photo is totally disgusting which is why my boys thought it was the best shot ever!  It’s also a great reminder to wash your hands WELL after handling animals.

 

Okay now you have been warned.  Don’t blame me if your stomach contents revisit your throat.Brace yourself.

Presenting…

….

….

Slug Poo.

 

And I think our slug has worms.  Ooooooh!   I told you it was horrid.  Doesn’t it make you want to go and scrub your hands thoroughly?!!   No…well I want to go and wash MY hands again…and again…!!!!  Oooooh gross!!!!The things a mother of boys has to endure!!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2009 in Science

 

3 responses to “Mr Slug Comes to Visit – Truly Gross Content

  1. Anonymous

    June 25, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Wouldn't want to be having lunch while reading this post…
    I agree – totally horrid – so glad I don't have boys – that would never get inside my house – gross!!!!!!!!!!!
    Courtney.

     
  2. Anonymous

    June 29, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Cool slug! I couldn't help it… I had to look!! Bec said for me to come visit your blog… we are going down the home schooling road… because of where live… and I'm seriously struggling with making a decision!! Thankfully I have 18 months till we start kindy with #1. Do you mind if I pick your brain about some stuff?? (Maree….. if you go to Bec's blog… you can find me under Farmyard Crafts….!)

     
  3. Anonymous

    July 6, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Too funny!!

    Why is it that my girly girl likes this sort of stuff too!!

    Sigh

    Jeanne (who doesn't…)
    http://ohpeacefulday.blogspot.com/

     

Leave a Reply

 
