RSS

Battling For A New Look

19 Jun

How do you like the new look?

Tell you what…I was just about ready to switch to Blogger last night when I realised that this new blogging arrangement was not going to allow me the same flexibility as I was used to.

I don’t want a lot features, which seems to be what the new system focuses on.  I like a clean uncluttered look on my blog.   So I don’t want all the nifty looking widgety things.  I just want to be able to get in there and center things properly, add spacing and lines and boxes where I think they need them.   I miss my ability to tweak…sob sob.

I very much like the ability to dabble in the template’s HTML code which it seems this new WordPress thing will not be allowing no matter how long I wait.  Boohoo!!!

Oh soooooo close to switching to Blogger.  I even read dozens of “WordPress VS Blogger” comparison articles.  Yes, I was that close.  Only one thing stopped me.  There were lots of reports that Blogger frequently “eats” your posts in the writing stage or was that uploading stage.  Whichever.  Both seemed awful to me.

When I balanced out whether I want my posts eaten or my template a little uncentred…well the new Homeschool Blogger/Wordpress won out…but only by a hair.

So once I got off the ground after a grand tantrum of sorts, I sucked it up and with a new determination set out to make this new system work for me!  It was a battle of wills, let me tell you.  I won some rounds, it won others!  Some time after midnight we agreed to disagree and compromised on a few things…for the moment!

I have three more battles to rage – customising my header if my upload usage is at capacity (Why is there no ability to use an outside source!!), putting my blog title on one line (This problem relates to the last problem) and making the contact link actually go somewhere.

But other than that I think I’m settled on my look.  If you were on my blog when I was last night you would have thought this was some sort of crazy chameleon blog.  I’m sure I tried on a dozen or more different templates to try out their features.  Hehehe.

Anyway, I hope you like the new look.   Do let me know if there’s something else I need to add to my battle list.   I’m fighting this blog war with my readers in mind.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2010 in Bits and Pieces

 

2 responses to “Battling For A New Look

  1. Lauren

    June 19, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    Yay, I like the new look. I’m glad to see you’re winning. On my blog, I’m constantly battling the platform to get it to do what I want…
    I don’t think Blogger would fix your issues — stay here and learn to work with it.
    Bon courage!

     
  2. Tracey

    June 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    You’re right. Embrace change…or at least tolerate it. Either way I go it’s going to be a steep learning curve. At least by staying I don’t have to piggyback my posts to a new home.

     

Leave a Reply

 
