RSS

Template Troubles – No Page Navigation!

20 Jun

I’ve stumbled on a rather big issue dear readers.  This template, which I was just started to fall in love with, has a major glitch.  It has absolutely no page navigation.  NONE!

Now for me as a poster this is no biggie.  But for you as the reader and potential hunter of information this is a major dilemma.

Let me explain the issue for you. When you go hunting in my category list or my archive pages you will ONLY see a set number of posts and not the whole range of posts on offer.  Now ordinarily this is a great feature as it allows you to only access one small portion at a time.  Then you click on the “older” or “newer posts” page turning button and can move to the next group of posts.  I like nice manageable chunks of posts.  Perfect for reading pleasure!

The problem for you is that on THIS template the designer has neglected to include any page navigation.  So once you’ve viewed your first small chunk of posts you can not, no matter what, access any more.

As the owner of the blog I can set how many posts you can see on one page.   Now I’m happy to set the number high so you can have access to the largest number of posts in a category or archival page.  However, by setting that number high this means that you’ll have to view that many posts on my home page too.  Imagine having to wait while the page loads for say 100 or so posts.  Now it doesn’t seem to bother my computer but I suspect it could be a issue for anyone with an older or slower computer or internet connection.   Eeek!

What to do?!  What to do?!

Well I’ve emailed the people at Homeschool Blogger to see they can fix the template itself for everyone’s use or whether they can walk me through a fix for my own little blog.

So we’re in a holding pattern at present.    For the time being I’ve set the post number to 25 so you should have access to quite a lot of the blog.  However if you still can’t find the post you were looking for or have issues with loading the page, please don’t hesitate to contact me and I’ll see if I can help.

CHANGE!  I knew I didn’t like it for a good reason.  Hehehehe.  Ah but I’ve learned so much in the past few days, like my eyeballs ache if I look at this computer for hours on end.  😮

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2010 in Bits and Pieces

 

2 responses to “Template Troubles – No Page Navigation!

  1. Jo Princess Warrior

    June 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Am I the first to add your blog button???

     
  2. Tracey

    June 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    You might just be. Hang on! Gotta go over and check it out!! Be back….If I must say so myself it does look spiffy. But titled “Fav Homeschool Blog”…you’re making me blush. Hmmm..I should start a fav links list too. When my eyeballs recover from my current template dramas I shall do that. Stay tuned!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
