RSS

Girls Can Do Anything…But Should They??

24 Jun

Call me antiquated.   Call me backwards.  But it doesn’t thrill me to see a woman leading our country.

(For those of you who are out of the loop, Australia swore in their first female Prime Minister today.)

Call me old fashioned but as a Christian woman I believe men should be in leadership roles:  in our homes, in our Churches, in the workplace and most definitely in our Parliament.   Not that women CAN’T do these things, but that it’s not the role God gave us.

Okay, just to dig myself in even further, it isn’t just about leadership roles for me.  It also breaks my heart to see mothers in the workforce, leaving the raising of their children to others.   They already have the most important and fulfilling role in their life and yet they choose, or succumb  to pressures, to abdicate their role as keepers at home.

It disappointed me to see news reports of young girls relating their excitement about the role of Prime Minister now being a “conquered” domain for women.  I viewed their coveting of this role with great sadness.

I’m raising my little men to lead, protect and provide for their families.  I do hope there will be little women left who cherish their roles as their husbands’ ‘help meets’ and as full time mothers and teachers to their children.

And now I’ll take cover and find a safe place to hide…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2010 in Bible and Faith

 

9 responses to “Girls Can Do Anything…But Should They??

  1. Seventhheaven

    June 25, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Tracey, you might not like what I have to say …

    Well, here goes …

    I totally AGREE with you :)! I guess I’m old-fashioned, too!

     
  2. Lauren

    June 25, 2010 at 9:22 am

    My take is a little different. I want my daughters to have the opportunities open to them without gender being an issue.

    http://www.sparklingadventures.com/index.php?id=975

     
  3. Tracey

    June 25, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I like what Debi Pearl says on the matter…”It was God’s design, before the fall, that the woman’s desire would be to her husband and that he would rule over her. This relationship was not punishment, but after the fall it would be a source of suffering for the woman.” (p118, “Created to be his Hep Meet”) and “It is not a question of being qualified [to have the same opportunities regardless of gender]; it is a matter of being authorized.” (p119)

    I don’t think it’s our gender that gets in the way of a happy and blessed life. I think it’s our hearts…wanting what God hasn’t given us. If He hasn’t given it to us then I feel that He must have a good and perfect reason.

    That’s my humble belief.

     
  4. Jo Princess Warrior

    June 25, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I don’t see anything wrong with a woman in a leadership role as long as her priorities are in the following order: #1 God, #2 family, #3 job etc.

    I am not a fan of the Pearl’s teachings. There have been 3 chlid deaths connected with their teachings.

     
  5. Tracey

    June 25, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Unless the Pearls themselves committed the acts I don’t hold them accountable.

    I’ve read nearly all of their books and found a lot of wisdom in them. As with everything though, I agree with some things and not others. Take the good and leave the bad.

    But none of the books tells you to lash out and harm your children.

    In those sad cases it would have been a disturbed parent who use sound teaching in their own disturbing ways.

    As a really far fetched example…The Bible tells us that a stubborn and rebellious child should be stoned (Deut 21:18-21). The verse has very sound wisdom to share but, taken out of context, a disturbed person could do a lot of harm with this verse. That wouldn’t be God’s fault. That’s a disturbed person’s own sin.

    I know I know. I’m a very black and white thinker. I let the sin of a person lie with the person who chose to do it. There’s no grey areas in my thinking. It’s kind of orderly don’t you think. All nice and easy to sort out. I would make a very unliked judge though, wouldn’t I? Hmmm…might never be called up for jury service if this thinking gets out…that’s a good thing too right. Hehehehe.

    Still love ya Jo!!

    I fear I’m getting off track here. Oh well.

     
  6. Jo Princess Warrior

    June 25, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    🙂

     
  7. Marla

    June 25, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Tracey, I felt the same way when Sarah Palin was running for vice president. It was hard for me to vote for her party. I only did it because the other party is so pro abortion that they want to use MY money to fund it (although I disagree with their robin hood mentality as well 🙂 ). What a sad predicament our country is in these days.

     
  8. Susan

    June 26, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    From someone who recognises the God-given roles for men and women in the family and church- and agrees that the Bible is clear in stating that women aren’t to hold leadership positions in these arenas, it had never crossed my mind that this also meant in politics as well. As always, you have given me food for thought! Putting aside how Julia Gillard became PM, and whether or not we like the idea of a female head of state, we can and should pray for our government to make godly choices and keep our country safe from evil. Yep, even with a female PM!

     
  9. Tracey

    June 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I totally agree with you Susan. We must pray for her and her leadership of our country.

    1 Timothy 2:1-2
    “I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone— for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.

    …just as we must acknowledge her authority as a leader.

    Romans 13:1
    “Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established.”

    Not having women in leadership is God’s ideal. But this world is far from ideal at this point. So I’ll just acknowledge my disappointment with a sigh and move on.

    God can bring great works even if it must be through a less than ideal situation!

     

Leave a Reply

 
