RSS

Do we take Homeschool Holidays?….Sure do!!!

25 Jun

No we don’t homeschool all year round.  We stick very closely to the school schedule.

I did like the concept of homeschooling year round but it turned out to be just a tad idealistic for us.

As hubby is a teacher and is at home regularly on school holidays we found it hard to homeschool during these times.  The boys are eager to spend time with Daddy during his holidays and having another person in the house disrupts the routine.  So we quickly gave up my idealistic notion of homeschooling week in and out.

Now that we’ve been homeschooling for several years, I really look forward to our breaks.  During the school term I don’t need to fret over my ever growing “to do” list.  I know I can use my holidays to do all of those things that I want or need to do.

And it is interesting but we seem to start falling into a homeschool slump at about week 8 or 9 of the term so breaking at the same time as schools is great timing for us.

During the holidays I can blitz clean and declutter the house, prepare the next term of school work, potter around the house catching up on reading and leisure and take little day trips here and there with the family.

So we very much look forward to our holidays.

The great thing about taking the time to have a break and change the routine is that when we start back into our school routine, we are renewed and energised.

By the last few days of the holidays, we’re just chomping at the bit to start our new term.

So personally I think regular holidays are a good thing!!  We start ours tomorrow.  Whoohoo!!!

 

2 responses to “Do we take Homeschool Holidays?….Sure do!!!

  1. Marla

    June 25, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I’ve thought about taking more breaks during the year and a shorter summer break, but it has been a hard thing to implement. We love our summers off, but sometimes I think we are wasting time because the summers are really too hot here to enjoy many outdoor activities. You’ve got me thinking about this again….hmmmm….

    Enjoy your break!

     
  2. Jo Princess Warrior

    June 26, 2010 at 9:11 am

    enjoy your holidays and we’ll see you after for a catch up!

     

Leave a Reply

 
