RSS

THREE students for a day

15 Jul

On Monday my student numbers increased by a third…just for the day though.

Miss L.J. joined us for the day and got a little taste of school at our house…although technically we hadn’t started back for the term.  But since we’re considering technicalities we didn’t “really” do school…unless you count only the fun stuff as school.

My plan was to keep my students busy and they were definitely that.

We started the day with a novel.  Just a short one as I wanted my guest to hear the end of the story.

We then made a puzzle out of a photo that we added a bible verse to.   “A friend loves at all times” (Proverbs 17:17).

We printed our photo on magnetic photo paper as it made it easier to manipulate the pieces.   It was a lovely momento of our day together.

We then started part one of a craft idea we wanted to try.   I had hoped to finish it all on the same day but I had high hopes and the wet paint had other ideas.  Always the way!!  But we enjoyed our painting anyway and painted stacks of coloured patterns.

In between all of these activities the munchkins had time to dash off and play together.  They played house, cars, chatted on Gmail with each other and Ethan taught Miss L.J. to use Google documents.  They also jumped on the trampoline, played in the sandpit, swang on the swings and ran themselves silly. All in a good day’s play.

After lunch we turned our attentions to Science experiments.  That comes under the “fun” category in our house.  We did a stack of surface tension and water cohesion activities.

Both students and teacher had a wonderful time with plenty of “wow”s!

The grand finale of the day was yet another craft activity.  Since the beginning of the year I’ve been promising these three munchkins that I would borrow Grandma’s felting machine so they could use it.

They began by cutting out their felt picture

and then they took turns using the machine to combine the pieces to their background.  This was the exciting part.  Even the boys thought it was incredibly cool.  (I plan on having a turn myself on the weekend!!)

Ethan's Tornado Felted Scene

To finish off the day, and to ensure they were as exhausted as I was by this point, I took the munchkins to the park for an hour or so.  It must have worked as the car was totally silent on the drive to drop Miss L.J. home and all parties were asleep way before normal that night.  That’s a successful day in my books!!!

So now I know what it’s like to teach three.  Exhausting.  But it was a lovely day and I wouldn’t hesitate to do it again.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2010 in Homeschooling Days

 

3 responses to “THREE students for a day

  1. Serious Sewing

    July 16, 2010 at 3:15 am

    Hey, great idea for kids! A felting machine project keeps their little fingers away from the needles. I tried letting my kids do some hand needle felting, but they stabbed themselves a few times (ouch!)

    Your grandkids look like they had a wonderful time!

     
  2. Serious Sewing

    July 16, 2010 at 3:16 am

    Great idea using a felting machine with the kids! Much safer than hand needle felting. (my kids found out the hard way.)

     
  3. Jo Princess Warrior

    July 16, 2010 at 3:19 am

    What a great day you had with Miss LJ. xo

     

Leave a Reply

 
