RSS

09 Aug

In addition to Ethan’s nightly two chapters of his current Zak Power novel, Ethan pores over a pile of books each night before bed.  Why haven’t I shared this list of fabulous attention-grabbing books before now?  Well quite frankly it’s not the usual fare of titles for an 8 year old. Have a look for yourself!!

IMG_7983

See what I mean. Not exactly the usual reading pile for a small boy. But there’s nothing “usual” about Ethan’s passion for all things technological. His first written word, when we was twoish, was “off” – a sign he was making to put on the computer which was, as the sign indicated, “Off”.

Many of his first words were “print”, “file”, “edit”, “save” etc. Oh yes and while he still struggles to automatically recall those number facts, he can convert numbers into binary with no problem.

Oh and he even talks like a computer at times. I can remind him about something and his response might be “Saved!” or if he doesn’t want to hear something he might say “Delete!!”, in which case I’ve been known to respond (you see it’s catching), “reboot or you’ll be shut down for 10 minutes!”

His computer skills exceeded my own quite some time ago. Nowadays he’s my “go to” computer man for technical problems. His knowledge can usually tide me over until hubby comes home, however there have been a handful of times when he knew something that hubby didn’t.

How did I teach him all this computer stuff?? I didn’t, let me assure you!! Hubby didn’t either. Ethan just absorbs it through osmosis I’m sure. We’ve always allowed him to explore the computer knowing that there really isn’t too much damage he can do. Fear seems to be the biggest obstacle when it comes to learning how to use computers. Our motto is, “Just try it and see”. Ethan does this all the time and it’s amazing what he discovers.

He just seems wired the right way to remember these technological things. Me…I have to write down a detailed list of how to do something new on the computer. Ethan…while he can’t remember those number facts…after one go on the computer can remember the steps in order and describe exactly where on the page the button to click is and even recall most of the other functions in the same drop down menu. Oh it’s just so his thing!!!

At this point I’m pondering outside sources that I can expose him to to build his skills. He desperately wants to learn HTML to create a website and has already managed to get several simple pages together. I’ll have to look into classes or something for him and Daddy.

Can you guess what he requested for his birthday??…aside from a pile of expensive in-his-dream-type items like a laptop of his own for instance…A book about HTML to add to his collection. I stood in Borders, shoulder to shoulder with several grown men, while Ethan sat on the floor perusing the computer books I handed him.

Finally he made his selection. He’s what he chose:

IMG_7982

Looks like riveting reading doesn’t it. Apparently it is to my 8, soon to be 9 year old. And it is so killing him to have to wait a while longer until his birthday to actually read it!!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2010 in Technology

 

6 responses to “

  1. Kristen

    August 9, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    My son (now 12) has a very similar passion! He also has been reading those types of books for years now. He spends more time on computer animation, game making, and video editing on the computer now than web design though.

     
  2. Tracey

    August 9, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Ethan was doing some beginning animation the other day. Using a free program from online called “Scratch”. Looked interesting.

     
  3. Sarah

    August 9, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    That’s very cool and you have my husband impressed too he’s our family computer nerd and has high hopes for our 6 yr old son who can already change all the settings on my login.

     
  4. SeventhHeaven

    August 11, 2010 at 10:02 am

    “…reboot or you’ll be shut down for 10 minutes!” I love it!! 🙂

    My oldest son (18) has always loved computers and he is my “go-to” guy when something doesn’t work. He knows more than my programmer husband does.

    I think with us “old people”, fear is a huge part of not knowing how all this new-fangled technology works. Little ones just are not afraid of anything! More power to them, I say!!

    When my oldest was 2 or 3, he changed my computer’s language to Chinese. He thought it was so funny when I had no idea how to fix it! He left me hanging there for about 30 minutes before he finally said “*sigh* I fix it, Mommy!” and he DID with 3 or 4 clicks of the mouse! When I asked him how he did it, he giggled and ran out of the room!

    I still haven’t forgiven him for that one 😆 !

     
  5. Tracey

    August 11, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Oh that’s too funny!!!

     
  6. eli

    July 14, 2012 at 7:34 am

    i have read acouple of those books! i going to start working on the software part of computers soon. once i get my darn 8 year old dell laptop to work. but one project at a time

     

Leave a Reply

 
