RSS

Annual Report and Continuing Registration

30 Aug

Remember way, waaaaaaaay back in January and February when I sent my Homeschool Reporting and 2010 Education Program in to be approved?   Yes the reporting that gives me the green light to continue homeschooling THIS year and the Education Program that must be approved BEFORE I can subject my children to it.  Well, today, August 30th, 2010 I was granted permission to start the year.

Oh I shouldn’t be so facetious.  They are clearly understaffed and unfunded and doing the best they can with the resources they have.  They are very apologetic about the situation and thank us kindly for our patience.

But the incredible lateness is rather amusing and yet downright scary.  It makes me wonder what would happen if the children had not progressed or the program (yes the one you’d been using for 9 months of the year!) was not acceptable.   This is the very reason the Unit is supposed to exist – to identify those who are neglectful, either willfully or unknowingly, in the education of their children.   The system, put in place by the powers that be, is clearly failing those it’s suppose to protect.  And to the rest of us, the paperwork is just a pain.

“So,” you are begging, “Did you get approved for the year you are MORE than half finished?”

Well yes actually I did.  Phew!  Gosh, imagine if I had to send in additional information in order to be approved.  It could be Christmas before we could “officially” start the year.

Oh and for the information of those who have not yet applied to the Unit for registration but intended to – late submission does not extend to us!  Seriously!  I’ve had two friends who’ve been reprimanded  for their “poor” time management.  On both occasions the families had been unwell and asked for a short extension but were denied.   (However if you say nothing and just send it in when you can, I suspect they would hardly notice…at least not for 9 months or so.  Hehehehe.).

I know you are just dying to see what the Unit sends you once you’ve been approved to continue.  I’ve scanned in the pages that I received (and blotted out any identifying info – names and dates) so you can enjoy a good sticky beak.

There’s nothing bad in there.  It sounds very generic in places.  They make a few resource suggestions and bemoan the workload I cause them by sending them what I consider an “adequate” amount of data in order to make an “informed” judgement on my child’s progress.  I mean, I don’t want them to get it wrong!

The rest is all praises of my “tremendous insight” (yeah well I am his mother),and  Ethan’s “pleasing and considerable progress” in the “excellent snapshot” I provided of our home education (Hehehe…I think they mean “daily moment by moment log”).

report 1a

report twoa

I added the speech bubble but I'm sure it was what they were thinking...hehehe

So fear not.  The process is painless, although burdensome until you get the hang of it.  My next report (sigh) will be my third and I think I’m starting to get the hang of it…although “enjoying” the process may never quite happen.  It is work afterall!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2010 in Planning and Registration

 

2 responses to “Annual Report and Continuing Registration

  1. Jen in NSW

    September 2, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I am a bit nervous about moving back to Qld and registering for HS. I have been in Tasmania and NSW since we got to official homeschooling age. Both places have been relaxed about my eldest not reading until he was over 8yo and having other learning delays. I am wondering how he will go when we get to Qld and he is over 12 years old and still doing Grade 4 or 5 work. Have you heard how they handle families with learning delayed kids?

    Thanks
    Jen

     
  2. Tracey

    September 2, 2010 at 9:37 am

    I have several friends in this situation and they’ve said that the HEU is very supportive.

    When you write your learning program you have to acknowledge their current skills and how you plan to accommodate their particular strengths and weaknesses and help them to progress from where they are at.

    Not sure how they approach the reporting though. I’ll have to ask about this. The HEU does report according to a comparison of where their peers are working. So to me it would seem that even if the individual child progressed in leaps and bounds, according to the reporting style I received, then the same child would still be behind their year level peers. That’s just an assumption though. I’ll have to get back to you with information on this one.

    Alternatively it might be something you could email the unit concerning. Best to know the facts than worry unnecessarily. They are really very friendly and only too happy to help. AND they are much better at answering emails than they are keeping up to date with their paperwork. Hehehe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
