RSS

Digging Myself Out of Hidden Clutter

13 Sep

On the surface my house is relatively tidy and clean.  Please don’t pop over unannounced though.  I do need some time to get it back to the clean and tidy state most days.  Hey we are normal people, definitely not a “Better homes and Garden” family.

Behind the cupboard doors is a different matter though.  There is a lot of stuff in there.  Friends, remember this – Do NOT open the cupboard doors…or at least step back and mind you toes.

Spring must be in the air as the chaos has got to me recently and I’ve been blitzing all of the cupboards throwing stuff out and giving hoards of stuff away.  Less is best right.

So that’s how I’ve spent my weekend – decluttering and giving my eldest an ulcer as he sees all the stuff I’m getting rid of.

Check out this “before” shot.  This is our Science cupboard.   Ugly I know.   This cupboard quickly moved up the “needs urgent attention” list when I couldn’t put away our insect viewer.   It came out of this mess but would not go back.  That’s when you know you have too much stuff!!

IMG_9827

After filling two shopping bags full of rubbish – yes it all came out of that one cupboard…

IMG_9831

I finished up with a cupboard that looked like this.   Probably still too much stuff but it’s a good start for decluttering round one, don’t you think?

IMG_9833

Our Math resource cupboard was blitzed next.  I actually parted with a lot of stuff from this cupboard.  Sadly I didn’t think to snap a “before” shot.  Possibly a good thing as I’m sure you’re all still recovering from the truth of what’s behind the cupboard doors.

IMG_9826

All of this came out of my Math cupboard.   It’s all stuff that the boys have grown out of, although they wouldn’t agree that they need to part with it…so I haven’t exactly told them.  Shhhh!

IMG_9832

My sister is going to “borrow” all of this stuff.  Well that’s what my boys think.  Strangely they have no probably with lending stuff out.  It’s the permanency of giving away that scares them.   Maybe one day they’ll freely “give” stuff away but for now, to prevent ulcers (theirs and mine), we are “lending” it… permanently.  Hehehe.

IMG_9840

My sister is a Prep teacher (she teaches 5 and 6 year olds) in a rather impoverished school so she jumps at all these new resources.  Her teaching colleagues drool over her new treasures too as they know that Lisa will share them with them.

There’s some really nice stuff in this bundle too.  It was almost hard to part with it but I’m only “lending” it right and it’s going to my sister.  So if I miss my stuff too much I can go and visit it.  Hehehe.  Amazing the attachment we can have to “stuff” that causes chaos in our cupboards.

IMG_9842

I also blitzed four drawers, two shelves and a cupboard under the desk in the study.   Somehow I managed to fill three and a half garbage bags with rubbish – useless stuff, broken stuff, old stuff, unloved stuff, pointless stuff and stuff that I didn’t need or want anymore.    That’s a lot of stuff.  I was ruthless and am trying not to think about the stuff that I threw out.   Eeek!

IMG_9847

The decluttered look is so nice and simple.  It’s refreshing and I want all my cupboards to look like this.  I want to be able to find and get to things easily and I want it to be even easier for everyone to put things away correctly.   Yes, from the same place they got it.  Won’t it be a novel way to live.  Hehehe.

IMG_9845

Clearly I still have quite a way to go.  But it’s a start.  My plan is to blitz every cupboard and space and then to start the cycle again and see what else I can part with.

IMG_9846

The September school holidays start in a week.  You now know how I plan to spend my time.  Yes decluttering…mixed with curtain washing, fan dusting and window cleaning.

Gosh, I won’t recognise the place when I’m finished!!  Of course I’ll also need another holiday!



 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2010 in Family Life

 

4 responses to “Digging Myself Out of Hidden Clutter

  1. SeventhHeaven

    September 13, 2010 at 3:13 am

    Please come to my house and declutter my closets and cabinets! I only live a couple of miles away … in Phoenix, Arizona. 😆

    Decluttering is so difficult because of the attachments, like you said. I don’t know WHY we get so attached to things that are completely worthless and have been untouched for months (or years!).

    I seriously need to get started on decluttering my house before camera crews move in, claiming me to be a “hoarder”. 😆

     
  2. Tracey

    September 13, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I suspect I’d find it much easier to throw out your clutter than mine so maybe we should switch lives for a fortnight.

    Oooh but that reminds me of that hideous show “Wife Swap”. Hmmm…let’s not.

    Perhaps the answer is encourage the clutter to breed and then get those camera crews in but be specific about the program.

    There used to be a show called Clean Sweep where they decluttered your house for you and sold your stuff in order to fund the redecoration of a few rooms of your house.

    Of course we’d have to be brave enough to let the world in on the skeletons in our closets…I do have one in the science cupboard…heheheh.

     
  3. Jen in NSW

    September 14, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Well done on getting the trash sorted from the treasures. I bet you uncovered a few things you had forgotten you had. I generally do when doing the big clean out. You are lucky yours are so close in age. Here I have to try to keep something for everyone from 11yo to 2yo. It does mean some toys won’t be disappearing “on loan” to anyone for a long time.

     
    • Tracey

      September 14, 2010 at 8:48 am

      I did uncover some treasures actually. Two unused jigsaw puzzles, still in plastic. Brayden loves puzzles. Oh and a continent game which I’d totally forgotten we had and will be perfect as we’ve just learned the continent names.

      Oh yes I hadn’t thought about people who have children of such varying ages. Now that would be problematic. You’d need a good organisational system and plenty of space to keep it. I’d be inclined to keep just the very best toys and still get rid of the rest. The little children will have more than enough birthdays and Christmases to fill up those toy boxes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
