RSS

My Plan for a Wall Timeline

27 Sep

I’ve been wanting to put up a history timeline since the beginning of the year.   I wanted a wall timeline as the linear effect on the wall is more effective in helping students see the connections than timelines kept in folders and books.

I also wanted to be able to add events or people to our timeline as we encountered them so a flexible system was important.

The ideas I found here and here were my inspirations.  I love the idea of being able to move our entries just by sliding them along.

However I wanted something that would look a little less temporary as obviously the timeline will remain on the wall for quite some time.

Then I saw this idea for hanging children’s art and I had a little light bulb moment.

Today my mum and I headed off to Ikea to purchase 6 Deka Curtain Wire and Clip sets.  One wire for each century.   (I feel sorry for evolutionists!)

Our timeline is going to live on the hallway wall opposite our art and craft cupboard.  We have extra wide hallways so protruding elements shouldn’t be a problem.  However I quite like the idea of positioning them flush to the wall as well.

I can’t wait to get these up on the wall.  I do hope they’ll be up before school starts back.

Hubby dearest…I know you’re reading this.  These dear readers are really eager to see this timeline system.  Do you think perhaps you could do this small thing for your dearest wife before the end of the holidays??  Pretty please…. 😮

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2010 in History

 

3 responses to “My Plan for a Wall Timeline

  1. Simple Mama

    September 28, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Sounds and looks great! I think we’ll be doing something similar next year when we cover World History for the first time. *gulp* It’s a little daunting to me, since it’s such a broad topic. I have yet to figure out exactly what I’m going to teach. A timeline is part of the plan, though-I do know that. 🙂

    Valerie

     
  2. Tracey

    September 28, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I found world history more manageable with a spine text.

    We use Story of the World at present but will use Mystery of History next.

    The spine text helps me with what to teach and when and then I can branch out from it when the topic interests us. It’s working quite well.

     
  3. Jen in NSW

    February 18, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    http://jens-busy-days.blogspot.com/2011/02/kroiters-whos-when.html

    Tracey just thought you might like to know about this.

    Holding baby on lap,
    Jen in NSW

     

Leave a Reply

 
