RSS

Our Timeline Begins

02 Oct

This morning we added the bare basics to our timeline – millennium labels, a handful of pivotal Biblical dates and the boys’ birth years.

IMG_0369

If you're wondering how I determined the biblical dates...I used the dates given in "Mystery of History" as we plan on using this curriculum in a few years time.

I created the cards this time as I wanted to figure out a system that would continue to work for the whole timeline and that would still be user friendly for the boys to use independently.   Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

– I’m not going to create cards for each time increment, I’m just going to label the millennia and note the years that occur in each millennium to help the boys locate the line on which to place their cards

– I’m using blue borders for B.C. dates and red borders (as a symbol of Jesus’ blood) for A.D. dates

– For events within the same time periods or events that have a common theme of some sort (eg personal family events, biblical events etc) I’m going to group these events together with the same colour shading.  Above you can see that all biblical events have been shaded pale blue and our family events are going to be white.

IMG_0364

– The cards themselves are being kept very basic – just a simple title, coloured picture (from a quick image search online) and the date.  The simplicity of the set up will allow the boys to create their own cards now that the template has been made.  They’ll just need to duplicate a B.C. card or an A.D. card and add their data.

We’re going to laminate our cards as well.  This will prevent them from getting too grimy and tattered over the years.   Of course we don’t have to stop everything and laminate each card as we make them.  We’ll just hang them and laminate them once we have enough to do or when we next have the laminator set up.

IMG_0368

Setting up the timeline has been a great activity.  We’ve learned so much already and we only have SIX events up!!

IMG_0353

Did you know that the “A.D.” precedes the year number but the “B.C.” follows it?  Apparently this is because “A.D” is an abbreviation of a Latin word and hence follows Latin usage rules whereas “B.C.”, being not Latin, follows standard English placement.

IMG_0350

And did you ever stop to think what the year following 1 B.C. was??  Nope.  It wasn’t zero!  Okay maybe you knew that but I’d never stopped to consider it before.  The year following was A.D. 1.  There wasn’t a year zero.  How about that?

IMG_0351

I was also taught at school that the B.C. did not mean “Before Christ” but was a Latin abbreviation.  Hubby mistakenly believed the same thing.  (Yet another reason to homeschool!).  It does mean “Before Christ” but the error comes in then assuming that “A.D.” means “After Death”.  A.D. is the abbreviation of a Latin phrase, “Anno Domini” meaning “in the year of our Lord”.

IMG_0352

And while we’re on Latin abbreviations, the “c.” you see at the beginning of my biblical cards stands for  “circa” meaning “approximately”.  I didn’t know that either.  I clearly was educated under a rock!

IMG_0371

Gosh all of this learning on the school holidays.  The Holiday Police will be after me for teaching outside of school hours!  😮

IMG_0354

Ah but even with our bit of work this morning the timeline is still rather naked looking.

IMG_0366

I suspect we’ll be doing a lot of History this term in our enthusiasm to find events to add!!

IMG_0370

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2010 in History

 

4 responses to “Our Timeline Begins

  1. Bernadette

    October 2, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Wow! time line looks great, I hope we will be able to do something similar when we get to Perth. I doubt it though, being a rental, (it’s all these little freedoms I’m going to miss from my own home ): )
    I must admit , I did know all those things you’d mentioned, but (this makes me laugh) I didn’t know where Scotland was until Yr 9 (Ihad a vague idea), and when I questioned my teacher, he didn’t know either – at least for a minute or so!! and then denied it completely! LOL he got a ‘ribbing’ that day!

    Looks great, Don’t forget to add your’s and your DH’s birth years too 😀
    ~ B @ 5+2=1

     
  2. Bernadette

    October 2, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    oh look!! I have my own picture now!! yay for me ;D was so happy the day i spotted that cosy scene of my eldest boy reading to 3 out of his 4 sisters. – it’s only since he ‘came’ home that he likes… sorry, LOVES reading!

     
  3. SeventhHeaven

    October 3, 2010 at 2:41 am

    I love this timeline idea! I wish I could do this in my house – unfortunately, my walls are made with cheap drywall and I just know the timelines would be pulled down within a month! I can’t wait for my husband to build us a house :)!

    Your timeline looks beautiful and it will be such a wonderful addition to your homeschool!

    You know it’s kind of funny what we learn in pubic school. I knew about the no year zero thing, but I was taught that A.D. meant After Death and B.C. meant Before Christ. We were never taught the real Latin words for the abbreviations. This was something I did not learn until I stumbled across it in a book in college.

    I also had no clue that Egypt was in Africa until I started teaching my kids (yes, I am very embarrassed by this!! :)). Growing up in Canada, things like that were not as important as learning Canadian History and Geography. I always thought Egypt was a separate country on the other side of the Meditteranean. As I started teaching my children, I had one of those moments where I said “Wow, I did NOT know that!” I have learned so much this past year :lol:!

    “Homeschooling – educating two generations at once!”

     
  4. Cindy Wilson

    October 6, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    This is a brilliant idea and we will give it a go as well, as being so flexible will make it so easy for us, but we are going to start with dinosaurs, maybe not “early man theory” though not sure how to broach that one, but will do the creation as well if that makes sence lol.
    Thank you for a very interesting and enjoyable blogg, I have plucked a few ideas from you
    We have a 5 year old girl and 8 year old boy and are on our 2nd year of home schooling.

    thank you

    Cindy

     

Leave a Reply

 
