RSS

Today…When The War Began

22 Oct

The Enemy:

All comments suggesting that this little thing is cute will be deleted!  No mouse lovers welcome here!  Stop snickering.  I’m serious.  He’s a horrid, filthy rodent!!

IMG_0678

How the War Began:

I was innocently sitting on our lounge reading the Bible to my boys when Brayden drew my attention to the air conditioner.  I moved quickly thinking there was a large spider ready to drop onto my head.   By this time the critter had gone back into hiding so Brayden told me he had seen a rat!  We discussed the size of this creature and determined it was a mouse.   And then I saw him.  A rather dopey field mouse.  Newbies, straight in from the bush, don’t seem to know that you need to fear the human and stay hidden in the daylight hours.

As I was photographing our intruder,  I told the boys I was rather glad he couldn’t get down from up there but he clearly heard me because he jumped!  So did I…up onto a chair!!!

IMG_0673

Repulsed, horrified, traumatised…none of these words seem to capture the essence of my thoughts!!

However my boys said it was soooo exciting and begged me to let them keep it as a pet if they could catch it.  Are they totally nuts?!!!  Although I did appreciate their fearless nature as I needed someone who would run and get me the longest handled broom they could find so I could protect myself…I mean…defend the house and family.

We…I mean…the boys…pulled the lounge apart looking for that mouse.  I issued instructions from my lofty viewing point.   But we couldn’t find him.  At one point Ethan saw the mouse scale the wall beside the nearby bookshelf (I didn’t know they could run up walls!!!!!)  but got a fright when Ethan approached and fell back down.   We haven’t seen him since.

IMG_0680

The arsenal:

An emergency trip to the store was necessary.   I restrained myself from buying one of every mouse killing item on the shelves.   Half of their products is restrained isn’t it?!!  Sadly they only had those useless plastic mouse traps which means my main attack tool will be poison.  Oh don’t bother me with your non-toxic remedies.   Some occasions call for the deadliest stuff on the market!!

Oh and the chair and broom are my defensive tools.  Vital in this war!!

IMG_0681

How this war better end:

IMG_0678mouse

Until then I’m NOT reading on that lounge and everywhere I do sit I will be keeping my feet tucked up high and safe!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in Family Life

 

11 responses to “Today…When The War Began

  1. Jen in NSW

    October 24, 2010 at 6:08 am

    Good luck with catching your little critter. We have had them at times. We live near a river and farmland which, we learnt, are high risk factors. I hope it is gone soon and doesn’t damage any furniture. We aren’t even willing to buy a new lounge while living in this house in case it gets chewed like our others.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW
    (and I do think rats are cute but only the pet shop type so I hope you don’t feel the need to delete my comment, lol)

     
  2. Tracey

    October 24, 2010 at 9:06 am

    They chew on lounges?!!! No, tell me you’re wrong?!!! Pleeeease!

    Well hopefully he’s taken our poison and is dying or dead. Can’t smell him yet though.

    He better not get back into the air conditioner. We’re already going to have get the air conditioner checked out in case he’s been nibbling wires!!

    Rodents!!!

    PS. I do agree that the little critters are a smidge cute…when they are dead!!!

     
  3. Renelle

    October 24, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I’m with you…I dislike rodents aarrgghhh. I know mice are better than rats though! I too would be found screaming and up on a chair, and my ds8 would be trying to catch it for a pet!If it’s there it will take the bait and leave the house in search of water, you will find it sooner or later! I feel your pain…and I’m a farm girl!

     
  4. Tracey

    October 24, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    We had a rat in our last house. We, (him and I) in the hallway one dark night and neither of us could get away fast enough. That thing was disgusting. Once we got him (you see I always win!!) I scrubbed every surface in that house and threw away a stack of stuff! Gross. Sends shivers down my spine thinking about it!!

     
  5. Sarah

    October 26, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    You need a cat. Ours is fat and lazy and probably wouldn’t be fast enough to catch one if it did come inside but just the cat presence keeps them at bay.

     
  6. Tracey

    October 26, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    We used to have two. But who wants to snuggle up to a cat who’s been eating mice. Yuck. And I must say my two cats were pretty useless with our rat. But they were very nice lap warmers. If it wasn’t for their habit of scratching the furniture and carpet I could be convinced to get another. Hubby could have something to say about that though. Heheheh. Plus all my cat-allergic friends couldn’t visit. Hmmm…better not get one.

     
  7. Kelly

    October 26, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Ahhh!!! Yes I cleaned like a crazy women too! These frequent our house because we live near the woods and they think we are a nice Bed and Breakfast they can stop by.. We use Peanut Butter to put in the traps. They always seem to steal the cheese. We have also used the stick pads that they stick to. My husband takes care of them from there. Good Luck! Someone needs to start a Rent-A-Cat business. 😉 Good Luck!

     
  8. Tracey

    October 26, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Got him!!!! Oh he was a dumb mouse, although not dumb enough to take my poison. He came running down the hall, saw me and decided to hide in my craft cupboard. I set up two traps – one inside the cupboard and one outside. I smeared them with Brie cheese. Obviously a good choice. In less than a minute that trap went snap and that was the end of Mousey. Hubby took care of him. I couldn’t even open the cupboard door. Yuck!!
    No more mousey!!! Yay!!!! I won the war…was there ever any doubt!

     
  9. SeventhHeaven

    October 27, 2010 at 12:57 am

    We have mice in our garage. They seem to come in every year from the farmland and canal behind our house.

    We tried to use those sticky traps once, but all we caught was a myriad of beautiful geckos which made me extremely sad. I love our geckos. Out went the sticky traps and in came the plain ol’ mouse traps that SNAP! This year, however, they seem wiser and are licking the traps clean of peanut butter without getting caught. We managed to catch one, but we know we have more in there!

    Another weapon in our arsenal – 2 Jack Russell Terriers! They love to hunt and they hate vermin of all kind … including, sadly enough, cats :(. Yup, I am talking dogs … piddling puppies at one time :lol:!!
    Once trained, however, they are wonderful! And they are extremely intelligent creatures! Not that I’m trying to sell you on getting dogs or anything! 😆

    I’m glad you caught your intruder!

     
  10. Jen in NSW

    October 27, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Glad you got him, and in such a definite manner. I hate how with bait you are never quite sure they have taken it.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

     
  11. Tracey

    October 27, 2010 at 9:23 am

    I haven’t seen these sticky trap things, not that I frequent the pest section of the stores all that much…thankfully. I prefer the old fashioned wooden traps myself but they are getting hard to find nowdays. We had to get those modern plastic grey ones. They are cruel. While they seem easier because you don’t have to touch the mouse to release it, it doesn’t kill them, just injures it. I had to get hubby to humanely deal with him. I couldn’t bear knowing he’d be slowly dying outside. Personally I don’t keep a trap once it’s made a kill anyway. I throw the whole thing out! Who wants to touch a trap after that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
