RSS

Pen Pal Excitement

02 Nov

Recently I answered a lady’s request for Australian pen pals for her boys.  Our boys were similar ages and I knew my boys would be thrilled by the idea of sending and receiving mail from the other side of the world.

Yesterday a parcel arrived from our pen pals.   The boys were sooo excited.   But first we had to wrestle it out of the letterbox.  I don’t know how the post man even got it in there!

IMG_0763

Once it was safely inside, there were “negotiations” about who would get to open it.

IMG_0773

We opted for a diplomatic “taking turns” approach.

IMG_0774

The boys were delighted with the contents.

So was Mummy!!  Do you recognise this book from its appearance?

IMG_0775

A Lamplighter!!!  So cool.  Thank you, thank you!!!

IMG_0776

Next out of our parcel was a letter which had been beautifully handwritten.

The ribbon is apparently related to the book and we’ll understand it’s significance when we read the story.  Intrigued!

IMG_0777

Oh and on the back was a stretchy dinosaur band.   Very cute.  Brayden has claimed the green one.

IMG_0778

Next, another letter.  This letter came with illustrations to the boys’ delight, and was also nicely written.   Now I’m feeling guilty for letting my boys dictate their letters to me as I typed them.

Oh and Ethan’s claimed the second dinosaur stretchy band.

IMG_0783

Our parcel also contained these great state maps.  These are going up on our walls once I laminate them.  You have no idea how often we are wondering where particular states are located.   I’m pretty good on the coastal states but get fuzzy towards the interior.

IMG_0782

This is a map of Georgia.

We have a dear friend named after this state as it’s their Daddy’s favourite U.S. state.

I’m ashamed to say this but I thought it was higher up.   Up there near Maine or something.

Clearly I need that state map!!

IMG_0781

And this is a map of South Carolina.

I “appeared” super smart the other when Hubby asked me to google what state Charleston was in.  It was South Carolina and I could give him a general idea of where that was.  I learned that from our pen pals.

IMG_0779

These are a collection of pictures and information about Georgia.  We loved the little handwritten notes on them.  Our maps had special places marked on them too.

IMG_0780

There were postcards and brochures too.  Our pen pals recently went to Stone Mountain, a place I had previously never heard of, so there were pictures and brochures from there.  These were amongst Ethan’s favourite things.  Earlier we had drooled over the promotional video on the Stone Mountain website.

IMG_0785

Brayden’s favourite thing was the United States flag.  I’m pleased he knew which way up to hold it.  That would be embarrassing otherwise…hehehe.

And I received a letter too!!  The Mummies haven’t been left out of this pen pal arrangement…hehehe.

On the back of my letter were samples of U.S. currency.   Very cool.

IMG_0784

The notes are such a weird texture.  If you’ve seen our plastic currency you’d understand.

IMG_0795

Sooooooo much stuff came out of that one package and we are still enjoying looking at it all.

IMG_0788

The boys read their letters straightaway.  Me too!

Then they negotiated with me.  “Can we skip our other bookwork and write to our pen pals instead?”

Who can say no to that!!

IMG_0790

Having pen pals is panning out to be a wonderful experience.    We constantly wonder about what they are doing and remind ourselves of things we want to share with them.

Oh and our pen pals have friends (boys aged 6 and 8)  who would love to have some Aussie pen pals too.   Feel free to contact me if you might be interested.

Thank you Mitzi, Will and Daniel for such a wonderful parcel!!

We loved it!!

We’re sending more letters on Thursday.  Keep an eye on your letterbox.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2010 in Geography

 

5 responses to “Pen Pal Excitement

  1. SeventhHeaven

    November 2, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    If you are looking for Arizona penpals, let me know! I have 3 that love to learn more about Australia (11 yo boy, 9 yo girl, 7 year boy).

    Penpals are so much fun! 🙂

     
  2. Tracey

    November 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    We’re happy to answer any of your questions about Australia. Just drop us an email via my contact box. But we’ll probably have to stick with just one set of pen pals for the moment…as much as we’d love to write to everyone. Hours in the day is always the problem. But we’ll put out the word with our HS friends and see if anyone would like pen pals.

     
  3. SeventhHeaven

    November 3, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Awesome! Thanks, Tracey! 🙂

     
  4. Diane

    November 3, 2010 at 9:09 am

    What a great amount of stuff to get at once. We live in Georgia and have been to Stone Mountain many times. When we lived closer we had a yearly pass. It has changed greatly over the years, for many years was a state park and then was purchased by a private company. Still lots of fun things to see and do there.
    Blessings
    Diane

     
  5. Tracey

    November 3, 2010 at 9:41 am

    I can’t imagine any of our national parks turning into amusement parks. They won’t let us pick a flower or tread on a plant. I could imagine the greenies chaining themselves to the trees over it. It’s a national disaster if a resort tries to build too close to a nice bush area. Could you imagine that big carving on the side of Uluru (Ayres Rock). I don’t think it would be received too well. Hehehehehe. I might be inclined to visit Uluru if it had a cool amusement park attached. Now I’m ducking for cover and going into hiding. Hehehehe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
