RSS

Emerged Moth

15 Dec

Once again we missed the actual emergence but only by minutes if not seconds.  I was walking page the insect catcher on my way to bed around midnight, when I saw the empty casing.  Phooey.  We’d missed it…AGAIN.

IMG_1425 (Small)

But I suspect the moth had only very recently emerged which is an improvement on our last observation attempt.

IMG_1496 (Small)

It was a sad looking specimen.  Look how short its wings were!

IMG_1432 (Small)

Then over time – I thought I was dreaming – it seemed like its wings were getting longer.  So I watched it closely.

IMG_1437 (Small)

Sure enough.  I was right!  Google says its called “inflating” the wings.  Hehehe.

IMG_1440 (Small)

We miss this process on our last moth.  I was tempted to wake my boys.  Ordinarily I would have (who needs sleep when you can sleep in) but it’d taken them sooooo long to fall asleep, it would have been criminal to wake them.  Trust me!

IMG_1444 (Small)

Then it fluttered its wings a little…

IMG_1445 (Small)

And sat in this position…presumably drying the wings.

IMG_1450 (Small)

IMG_1454 (Small)

IMG_1462 (Small)

It wasn’t long before it lay its wings down

IMG_1477 (Small)

But still it wasn’t ready to fly away.

IMG_1489 (Small)

It spent some time like this which enabled me to get lots of shots.

IMG_1491 (Small)

Look at his hairy body.  Reminds me too much of a hairy spider.  Oooh.

And check out the hooks on its legs,

IMG_1501 (Small)

its abdomen

IMG_1513 (Small)

and eyes.

IMG_1514 (Small)

As with the other moth we observed, after a time it excreted a substance and became a little more active.  Gross huh?  Sorry.  I have a habit of finding the gross fascinating.  Hence God gave me boys.   😮

IMG_1526 (Small)

By this point it was nearing 2 am in the morning and I got to the point where I didn’t care what else this moth was going to do.  It could have turned into a chicken for all I cared.  I needed some zzzzzz and still do as a result.

IMG_1523 (Small)

I suspect, after the excitement of this moth, the boys will be finding me yet another caterpillar.  Eventually we’ll observe each part of the process.

I desperately want to observe a butterfly now to compare the differences.  That’s going to be my New Year’s Resolution!

(In case you missed the journey of our last caterpillar then moth.  You can check them out here and here.)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2010 in Science

 

3 responses to “Emerged Moth

  1. Monique

    December 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    wow! I didn’t know the wings inflated like that

     
  2. Tracey

    December 15, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Neither did I!

    I probably need to change my title from homeschool-ING mumma to homeschool-ED mumma.

    I’m learning as much as the kids!!

     
  3. Monique

    December 19, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    tell me about it, both me and my husband are finding things we never knew.

     

Leave a Reply

 
