RSS

Brilliant Find!! Gallipoli & Anzac Resource

09 Feb

Oh I HAD to share this as it’s just too good to keep to myself.  It’s so good I could burst with enthusiasm over this fantastic resource.

Shall I tell you?  Do you really want to know?  Okay, enough with the torture.

Looking for something totally unrelated, I stumbled across a site called, “Gallipoli:  The First Day”.  According to the webpage it’s a “3D Documentary site about the WW1 Anzac landing at Gallipoli”

IMG_2415 (Small)

Not really enthused yet?  Anzac Day isn’t until the 25th April you might be thinking.  Well you need to look at this site to be impressed.  It’s outstandingly well presented.  I’ve spent ages watching, listening and exploring and as I did I ended up with a group of little faces around me eagerly watching too.

It’s the best visual presentation that I’ve seen for children.  Usually war visuals are too realistic for younger audience.  This presentation uses computer animations to tell the story so the truly gruesome images aren’t implanted in our children minds but yet the audio and carefully selected narrations keep a grave and tragic tone.  I appreciate this fine balance as I want my boys to understand the hideousness of war but without having to see the gory visuals.

IMG_2422 (Small)

None of my words are going to do this website the justice that it deserves.  The best thing you can do is go and explore it for yourselves.    Start with the “Anzac Landing in 3D”.  It’ll blow you away.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2011 in History

 

5 responses to “Brilliant Find!! Gallipoli & Anzac Resource

  1. April

    February 9, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    You should be excited…terrifc find! I’m excited now! Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. April

    February 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Sorry, I mean TERRIFIC… 🙂

     
  3. Monique

    February 11, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    thank you so much! this will be a fabulous resource for us

     
  4. Tracey

    February 11, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    You’re welcome ladies

     
  5. Megan

    February 12, 2011 at 12:39 am

    WOW!! What a find. My boys will be very interested in the morn 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
