RSS

The Great Book Purge

13 Feb

My bookshelves were stuffed to bursting and there was no room for new treasures so yesterday began the great book purge of 2011.

I knew I could part with quite a lot of titles as I haven’t really decluttered the shelves in years.  In that time my faith has grown and matured, I’ve come to know exactly the type of homeschool books I know that we will use, and in general I’ve just become a lot pickier about what I want my family to read.

So books were tossed out left, right and center.

IMG_2450 (Small)

Halfway through the day

I’ve also reorganised the shelf categories now that I know how much space each topic really needs.  In addition to all of this shelf shuffling and book tossing there was major dusting action (and a lot of sneezing and wheezing!).

I’ve been working on the great book purge for two days now (I also ironed 2/3 of my ironing pile over these two days…I’m on a real roll at present!) but yet I’m only half way through.

I’m hoping to be finished this task by the coming weekend but that could be a little optimistic.  Once I get started on this task I need good chunks of uninterrupted time and I need to be in a ruthless mood, remembering that “might be useful” is my enemy.

Then I have to move the unwanted books out of my house!  This is going to be no small task!

IMG_2453 (Small)

Halfway through the total job

And now, even at the half way mark, my shelves are looking delightfully empty and that can only mean one thing…

I need to go book shopping!!  🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2011 in My Library

 

5 responses to “The Great Book Purge

  1. Bernadette

    February 14, 2011 at 1:48 am

    Oh i love your thinking!! just think how many needy homes and/or schools could recieve all that booty!!

    I was disapointed when we unpacked and rearranged our original homes for our books, to discover i didn’t have as many as i thought – for a little while i was convinced some had been lost in the move over!! 😮 they hadn’t
    but looking on the bright side, it also means we get to collect more and more! beautiful books I have a dream link for you!!
    http://bookshelves.tumblr.com/

    (hope it works!)

    happy purging 🙂

     
  2. Tracey

    February 14, 2011 at 8:24 am

    I think that last design would work nicely for me…I would however have to raise the roof a little – okay a lot – to make it work. But books are worth the effort. 🙂

     
  3. Bernadette

    February 14, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    LOL. my fav. is at 10:46am – concept for stolkholm public library ooohhhhh aaahhhhhh *insert dreamy face here*

    they keep adding more, i also like karl lagerfields library, about 3 pages back at the moment 🙂

     
  4. Diane

    February 17, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Wow that’s alot of books. What are you going to do with them? Donate to a library or sell?
    Blessings
    Diane

     
  5. Tracey

    February 17, 2011 at 10:58 am

    I’m more of a donate person. It’s too much of a bother to sell as they have to stay in the house for longer. Plus you never get enough money to make it worth your while. There are about 5 books that I know are popular homeschool titles and almost new that I’ll sell or give to people I know would love them. Some of the better books I’ve been bundling up for friends who I know would like them. The problem with a lot of these books are that they really are junk and my closest friends know that, unless it’s a double or we’ve just grown out of it, it’s probably junk if Tracey isn’t keeping it. Hehehe. My prep teacher sister is getting a large box full for her class. Their school has absolutely no classroom budgets this year so we’re been sending a lot of stuff her way as the children she teaches are already underprivileged without school finances putting further obstacles in their way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
