RSS

The Big Bookshelf Boogie & Shuffle

20 Feb

Ah…the books and shelves are in harmony once more.

No more double stacking…okay…very little double stacking.

Every book earning a space on the shelves…okay…most of them are worthy but not all.

Two full boot loads…that’s station wagon boot loads!…have left my house for new homes.

And three Dyson canisters full of dust have been vacuumed from the house…books equal dust you know.

I thought I’d give you the bookshelf tour through my house…now that it’s in almost prime condition…nothing is ever perfect you know.

So welcome to my front entry hall.  To your right as you stand with your back to my door, you’ll see the first bookcase.  This is also the last to be built by my Father-in-law.

IMG_2623 (Small)

It’s finally full of books….well almost.  I’d been holding off filling it as I wanted to catalog them all first but let’s face it, that just wasn’t going to happen any time soon.

IMG_2618 (Small)

So this is what my front hall bookshelf holds.

As you enter our home you’ll know that we have children, are Christian and homeschool so if you’re terrified at this point you won’t be too far from the door and can make a quick getaway if necessary.  Hehehehe.

Alternatively, if you’ve spent the morning or afternoon sipping cups of tea with me, while your children play with mine, then this shelf is the last you’ll visit on your way home, making it convenient for “borrow browsing”.

IMG_2618a (Small)

Now a little way further into the house and we’ll turn right into our study.

IMG_2621 (Small)

This shelf was purpose built for this house.  If we ever leave this shelf would have to stay as it just won’t fit through the doorways.  Meaning of course that I’ll have to stay forever as I can’t leave behind a family member!

It sits right behind me as a type this and it is rather massive.

IMG_2625 (Small)

Yes I need a ladder to reach the top two shelves.  But then again I’m short…merely 5 foot.

IMG_2614 (Small)

Here’s what lives in our study bookshelf.

(Yes I let Hubby keep a few of his books.  But two whole shelves worth!  Can you see the double stacking here?  I wasn’t prepared to “waste” a third.  Hehehehe.  Luckily he’s a lot like me and he loves children’s literature as much as the rest of the family.)

IMG_2613a (Small)

Okay, back out of the study.  The afternoon sun is starting to heat up that room.

Now you’re in the lounge room.

Over to the left you can see that wasted wall where the tv is.  Maybe one day…..

Hubby said over his dead body.  😦

IMG_2624 (Small)

This shelf was built in our last house and was not wanted by the new owner.  Can you believe it?!!  They asked us to remove it.  I was over the moon…and terribly sorry for them at the same time.

Lucky we didn’t build that one too large.

IMG_2615 (Small)

Living in the lounge are the following categories of books:

(Yes it does say “Horrible Histories” Magazines.  No I don’t like them but I paid a fortune for the series before I was wiser.  Now I’m struggling with throwing them out.  Surely there is a purpose for them.  I keep looking at them trying to find one.  None yet!  Guilt is issue here.  I just need time to forgive myself.  I’ll keep your informed of my progress.)

IMG_2616a (Small)

Further down this hall you can see the entrance to the homeschool area.  It needed some TLC today but I don’t think it’s going to get it.  After my big clean yesterday and with the sweltering heat today…it’s not high on my list of priorities.

IMG_2628a (Small)

Okay now you’re in the homeschool area.  It’s technically our family room or rompus area.  It’s big enough for both purposes.

Notice that’s it’s a mess too.

What do you mean you can’t see it?

IMG_2626 (Small)

Look closely.  See?!

IMG_2627a (Small)

If the mess is making you tear up turn to your left.  The sight is much more serene over there

…only because I hustled a child to pick up their squash racquets and balls (which they were playing GOLF with) and move out of my shot.  Hehehehe.

IMG_2629 (Small)

This is the shelf to the left of our reading couch and all that it contains.

This shelf was cleaned out at the beginning of the year.  I noticed when I was adding labels that the “Character Stories” shelf has a hodge-podge of stuff in it.  I’ll have to deal with that now that real homes have been located for everything.

IMG_2619a (Small)

And this is the bookshelf to the right of the reading couch.

(We keep our globe within arm’s length when we read so we can always look up locations as we read about them.  There’s also a wall map next to the other chair so we’re never too far away from the world.)

Oh yes, the “Books to Reshelve” box.  Well the boy can certainly return their own books but when the shelves are full it’s hard work to find a space.  Little boys are always in a hurry and if I rushed them to put the books back I’m sure books would be damaged or probably left on the floor or chair.  So I started the “reshelving box”.  The boys have to return the books to the box and once it’s almost full we work together on the chore of returning them to the shelf.   When the shelves are a little less full it’ll be much easier to put them back as we go but for the moment this works for us.

IMG_2620a (Small)

Well that’s the end of our book tour.

I could show you Ethan’s shelf but it’s just full of computer programming books (yawn, snore, boring 🙂 Hehehe).  Actually hubby and I were discussing Ethan’s need for a bigger shelf to house his growing collection of personal books.  And since there was no culling of this shelf…Ethan would have killed me…there’s no point in showing it to you.  Plus his bedroom is probably…highly likely…messy.

So best to end the shelf tour here.  Hope your enjoyed yourself.  Please close the front door behind you…and quickly so as not to let the air conditioned chill out.  🙂

 
18 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2011 in My Library

 

18 responses to “The Big Bookshelf Boogie & Shuffle

  1. Jen in NSW

    February 20, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Wow, you really do own a library. I have been looking at my double stacked shelves and wondering if I can let any go. I’m just not sure yet. I wish I had more wall space so I could get more shelves instead.

    I would love being able to browse my own shelves like you must for school. My books are mostly fiction and cookbooks at this stage.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

     
  2. Tracey

    February 20, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    It does make things easier, particularly when you want a book quickly on a topic you hadn’t planned on reading.

    It’s also great for the boys as they can browse the shelves at home for things they want rather than waiting until library day…although I’ve taught them how to use the online hold system too so the books they wanted are waiting for them when they get to the library.

    I suppose collecting books is my hobby. Better than other collections that are quite useless although both collect plenty of dust. Hehehe.

    I’ve been collecting books since I was a teen so the collection had grown quite large…hence the necessary purge.

     
  3. Elsa

    February 21, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Oh so envious lol!! We moved back from Canada, and so many of my (oh yes, our) books are still waiting to come over here. . Hopefully they’ll join us soon. In the meantime, I start again…Oh yes that’s fun! My SIL commented at Xmas how many books we have, but I just look at our shelves (BIG built-in) and think huh? That’s not many. LOL! LOVE your set-up. Wish I was so organized.

     
  4. Tracey

    February 21, 2011 at 8:45 am

    Very few people understand or appreciate our book collection, ASIDE from homeschoolers. Family members think we’re stark raving mad. For gifts I always suggests books (specific titles or vouchers!) but most of them say, “You already have too many”, even when it’s the thing we most love to receive. My sister in law asked whether I had read them all. Of course I’ve read most of them…except things that aren’t meant to be read from cover to cover like reference titles, or things that are on the “waiting to be read” list. She couldn’t wrap her head around the fact that one person could have read so many and she’s a teacher!! Most of the people we know are teachers and not one of them appreciates our collection…unless they need to borrow of book of course…hehehee….and then I have to think very carefully if I’ll lend to them. If you don’t love books then you might not care for books or return it!!! Grrrr. Hehehehe.

     
  5. Bernadette

    February 21, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I’ve been sitting here laughing and giggling out loud at your post, getting strange looks from my husband (NOT a book lover) and MIL – (medium book lover) Oh so much love to your bookshelves from house. Perhaps one day we can manage half of your collection. 🙂

    Bernadette

     
  6. bernadette

    February 22, 2011 at 1:14 am

    oops, i meant OUR house:)

     
  7. Diane

    February 25, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I love books. You should open up your own library once the boys graduate.
    Blessings
    Diane

     
  8. Monique

    February 26, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    I am so jealous! so much space and such big shelves.

    My collection is much smaller but forever growing, I can’t expand as much as you have though.

    I am very lucky that my mother is a big supporter of reading and books, shes always buying my son books. My nephews and bothers are not interested in encouraging a love of reading but I have always been a bookworm and me and my husband are passing that on to our son. There is no package that comes from her that doesn’t contain more books.

     
  9. Tracey

    February 26, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    In our house toys are something you get only at birthdays but books, you can get those anytime of the year! We’re definitely raising book lovers in our house. I hope my future nieces and nephews love books because Aunty Tracey is going to be giving them lots and lots.

     
  10. Mrs. McAwesome

    April 28, 2011 at 6:50 am

    WOW – a collection to be envious about!

    Was wondering if you still had those horrible history magazines? One of our girls is obsessed with horrible histories and with me being sick (and hubby out of work as my “carer”) we are looking for second hand options. Please email me if you are looking for a buyer 😀

    Back to drooling over pictures of your books.

     
  11. Deborah

    November 24, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Wow~!! I am so blown away. It makes me want to start up a new library.

     
  12. Jeanne

    November 25, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Oh, I have so enjoyed looking around your library with you. As a fellow bibliophile I would love to have a gudied tour in real life one day. Until that time comes, this has been wonderful. You have inspired me greatly. Thank you.

     
  13. Tracey

    November 25, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Oh you are very welcome to take the full real life tour one day Jeanne. Some of the books that live in my shelves are there because you recommended them and we quickly fell in love with them too. Perhaps between the two of us we can hold an intervention to convince hubby that the tv is wasting a potentially wonderful bookshelf wall. 🙂

     
  14. Bernadette

    March 29, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    Oh I love this post of your’s 🙂
    I have been wondering if you’ve gotten around to cataloguing them all? You have those cat looking barcode scanners right? My dad has given us some, but I’m not sure what to do with them? I vaguely remember you ( I think?) mentioning ” library thing” ? How does it work??
    How do you sort your books? For example, your ‘papa piccolo’ title, will that go under Venice/ other countries or picture books? Jamie has been hinting that he will build me new bookshelves, since the ones we have wobble and sway when ever the children go near them :/ I hope this isn’t all ramble, I can’t scroll back properly on the iPad 🙂

     
  15. Tracey

    March 30, 2012 at 9:22 am

    I did attempt to catalog them but the task was just too big. I gave up. The books are catagerised by subject on the shelf and I still have the doubles issue. Yes I used Library Thing and it’s good if you have a small collection to deal with. For something like Papa Piccolo I would tag it with picture books, geography, Venice and if it had a particular theme that stood out I might add that too. This was part of my problem and I had to remember exactly which tags I had used as a simple alteration of the title created a whole new category. It was a massive task and if I had a whole uninterrupted year it might work. Hehehehe. Maybe you’ll motivate me to get back to the job. Hehehe. But maybe not.

     
  16. Bernadette

    March 30, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Sorry, bad sentence structure, i meant on your physical shelves. Where would you return Papa Piccolo, or the titles with multiple categories or no main one?
    I have all these great picture books, and i’m torn between putting them all together and allowing free access, or sorting them by theme and possibly having the children pass them by because the are “too hard” to get out or put away.

    Hmm, maybe i should get onto that Library Thing system while our collection is still small…in comparison to yours 🙂

     
  17. Tracey

    March 30, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Books I’ve bought specifically for a certain topic are housed with that topic. So for Papa Piccolo which is set in Venice and bought for our Venice studies, I keep it with the Geography books which are further sorted into different countries. I probably wouldn’t do it this way if I didn’t have so many country focused book and picture books. The general picture books are overflowing out of their shelves so for me it’s more convenient to have their own shelves. Rest assured my boys will go and pull books from wherever they are interested. Ease of use is irrelevant to book lovers. Hehehehe.

     
  18. Lisa

    March 30, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    Lovely, lovely, lovely!

     

Leave a Reply

 
