RSS

Learning to Read Tip

01 Mar

This is something I’ve just discovered…I’m a slow learner obviously…hehehe

My beginning reader thinks that he can read by staring at the picture or gazing into space and suggesting whatever word comes into his head, as I stab at the words in frustration.

His eyes are so rarely on the words that, if I hadn’t already taught a similar student, I might start to think that it was never going to happen.

Where is this tip that I promised?!!

Well I’ve always pointed to the words for my boys, not moving my finger along until they got the word right.

Then I asked my independent reader to listen to my beginning reader read while I made lunch (something that both boys love so there’s a little extra tip… this has become a two for one tip post). What I noticed was that my beginning reader had to point to his own words and he was actually looking at the page! He had to as there was no one there doing the work for him.

His obstacle is me! I’m doing all the work for him. Duh! So obvious. And I’m the “trained” teacher and it’s taken me this long to figure this out. Clearly I’m the slow learner.

All of this week a little man has had to run his own finger under the words he is reading and it actually has improved his reading. Mind you he wasn’t happy about breaking his old routine. Oh well. That’s the way the cookie crumbles. 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2011 in Language

 

6 responses to “Learning to Read Tip

  1. April

    March 2, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Aaahhh, all is clear now! I’ll have to try this tonight and see how we go. My little ratbag insists that her word guess is correct and that I need glasses…(lol)

     
  2. Tracey

    March 2, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Some days I marvel at their accurate guessing and others I just have to shake my head. The “learning to read” process is actually quite fascinating. I’m enjoying it…even though I’m sure I’m going grey in the process. It’s so cool to think, “I TAUGHT him to READ!” Moi! Me! Heheheh.

     
  3. Kerrie

    March 5, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    He sounds liek alex tried to get him to point… trying to keep him focused on pointed was harder that the other day… today we got B-U _G mat… so you ask where is the M sound… oh well a pslow process!

     
  4. Tracey

    March 5, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Oh yes it’s a slow road sometimes. Both of my boys went through (are going through) the same process. With my first I panicked thinking he’d never learn and he did. So with the second I’m not as stressed. I know the road could be about 2 to 3 years long before they are off reading novels. I know that they guess, have good days and bad, get frustrated, go through the “I hate this” stages…but when it all falls into place they grin when you remind them of the long journey you seemingly dragged them through…thankfully.
    To help with that initial sounding out period I help them along with blending together the first two sounds for them. eg. for B-U-G I would say “bu” and then they’d chime in with “bug”. I don’t know if I’m doing the right thing but it works for us. Over time they get better at sounding it out for themselves and no longer need my prompts.

    I suppose the best tip I can give is practise reading from readers, a little every day. Do whatever works…and one day it just all seems to fall into place somehow and they start reading stuff you’ve never even taught them. That’s when you sit back and celebrate!!

     
  5. LEENA

    March 12, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    I think your son would do fantastic with a leaap pad. They have lots of fun books and the child can follow along.. he can rwead himself word by word or a bit of both., he could put the stylus under each word as many times as he wants he would be in full control and they have stories going up to chapter books like magic Treehouse ones. leena

     
    • Tracey

      March 12, 2011 at 8:34 pm

      We have a Leap Pad but don’t use it all that much. As a plaything the boys occasionally enjoyed it when they were younger but nowadays they don’t bother much with it. It’s one of those things that I feel guilty about using money on. It just hasn’t got the use I had hoped it would. Perhaps it’s just my boys.

       

Leave a Reply

 
