RSS

First Gardening, Now Sewing…What Next?

10 Apr

My Nana gave me one of her sewing machines for my birthday and ever since has been asking me what I’ve made.

Ummm…Nothing.

So today I set up the machine.

It’s a spunky looking thing.  Much more high tech than I remember using in Home Economics class many many years ago.

IMG_0845 (Small)

The project – a simple tote bag.

A grand task for my skill level.

IMG_0849 (Small)

With Andrew Pudewa and Andrew Kern audios blaring in my ear I faced the challenged.

IMG_0844 (Small)

The instruction manual was never far from my side though.  It’s been a long time since I threaded up a machine or refilled a bobbin.  I was impressed that I did have a couple of skills in my limited repertoire.

IMG_0848 (Small)

Don’t laugh but I needed a few sewing basics books to refer to as well.

IMG_0847 (Small)

And, not being a drinking woman, chocolate was necessary to calm the nerves.

IMG_0846 (Small)

After a WHOLE day of sewing (wouldn’t it be easier to just go and buy one??), things started to take shape.

IMG_0850 (Small)

Then around 4pm this afternoon I had produced these…..

One for Brayden….

IMG_0852 (Small)

And one for Ethan….

IMG_0851 (Small)

On seeing my sewing prowess, Hubby inquired where his sons would be using their handbags.

Well I was going to make them aprons.

Hehehe.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2011 in Family Life

 

14 responses to “First Gardening, Now Sewing…What Next?

  1. Kirsji

    April 11, 2011 at 4:39 am

    Those are gorgeous!

    HA! MANLY bookbags for MANLY men when they visit the bookstore or library!

    Aprons can be manly too … so long as there are pockets for grilling tools! 🙂

     
  2. Elsa

    April 11, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Ha! I bought a machine a year or so ago, not having sewed since home ec class either. The intention was to sew pajamas for the kids (was tired of seeing all those skeletons and action figures on boys pjs) and also to try to teach my dd how to sew. Same as you lol…had the instruction manual out there, and believe it or not, some things actually came back to me! So…now the kids have pjs, and pillows and both the older ones (ds and dd) will get on there when the machine is out.

    You go girl!! There are many uses for those bags, dh will see. 🙂

     
  3. Tracey

    April 11, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Clothes is another thing it will be useful for, you’re right. I have exactly the same concern regarding boys clothes – too many death symbols, bizarre symbols meaning who knows what and just nothing nice. Ethan’s just going into a size that’s going to be near impossible to dress him from a store. So one of my next projects is going to have to be a collared shirt. That’ll stretch my skills.

     
  4. Elsa

    April 11, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    It’s so true about boys clothes isn’t it. My ds refuses to wear any of them, and it’s difficult to find just plain shirts. Guess we’ll be homeschooling ourselves! Next project are skirts for dd…something NOT skimpy. geesh…girls clothes aren’t any better. Keep us posted with your projects!

     
  5. Tracey

    April 11, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Oh I’m glad I don’t have to worry about girls’ clothes as I would have had to learn to sew when they much younger. I think girls clothes are worse than boys.

     
  6. Bernadette

    April 11, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Can you feel sorry for me then?? 😉 i have 4 girls!! my eldest dd is just 9 and the shorts for her are getting shorter and shorter. :O Thankfully there are some things acceptable if you dig for them. I even saw a pair of BABY booties that said “little flirt” i was sick to the stomach!! thankfully in my DS case, he is 11 now (and 50kg!), and i can bypass all the ghouls and death stuff and buy him an XS or S from the mens section !! yay!

     
  7. Tracey

    April 11, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    4 girls. Poor thing. Although, on one hand, that’s a problem I wish I was blessed with.

    My little men are such skinny little things that I fear it’ll be many many years before they make it to men’s clothes.

    Hey, when I find an outfit for my boys that is nice (a rare treat) I’ll buy it in all sizes and colours! Don’t laugh. It’s true. And you wondered why my boys are often wearing similar outfits…heheheh. Now you know!

     
    • Bernadette

      April 11, 2011 at 6:35 pm

      I stock up at the beginning of the school year too, on “school uniforms” all those really cheap cotton drill shirts and t-shirts in plain colours – i’ve never got around to it, but you could easily personilise them with patches or appliques etc 🙂

       
  8. Tracey

    April 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    We did that one year. My mum has a big fancy-smancy embroidery machine and we made a little school logo for our plain polo shirts and added the boys’ first names. We wore them to our homeschool group lessons and excursions. They were great, especially for visiting teachers who always knew my boys’ names.

    For around the house we wear basic shirts and pants but it’s nice to have something just a little nicer for when we go out.

     
  9. Kelly

    April 13, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    hahaa! Good job sewing! I check out a couple of neat blogs about sewing projects.
    Sew Mama Sew
    and
    Nap Time Crafters (although your little men probably dont nap) 🙂

    Kelly

     
  10. Bernadette

    April 13, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    have you added in ads to your blog – which doesn’t bother me – i just want to make sure nothing “funky” is going on 🙂
    Bernadette

     
  11. Tracey

    April 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    No. OH gosh. I didn’t know that was there. Oh boy. How does one get rid of it. Ahhhhhh.

     
  12. Tracey

    April 13, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    Hmmm just figured it out. The ads are the hideous effort of HomeschoolBlogger to make money in order to keep HomeschoolBlogger free. Personally I’d rather pay to keep the advertising off the blog. Looks like it may be there to stay unless I move the blog. Yuck. I’d rather something discreet in the side bar. Talk about eye sore!!!! Not a happy blogger!!! Not that I think they care one little bit.

     
  13. Bernadette

    April 14, 2011 at 12:34 am

    oh well, let us know if you move…….not sure i could help you pack though ;D

     

Leave a Reply

 
