RSS

Our Australian Girl – A New Book Series

19 Apr

A few weeks back I stumbled on a new book series that caught my interest.  It’s called “Our Australian Girl”.  I don’t know what made me picked them up, having only little men in our house, but I’m glad I did.

These books are set in periods of Australian history.  It’s not often that you find new children’s books on Aussie history.  You usually have to track down old or out of print books.  It’s a terrible shame but that’s just how it is.  However with the renewed interested in history, with the development of the national curriculum, perhaps we’ll see more Aussie history resources.  I do hope so.

I always hold my breath when I read a new title written for modern school kids though.  There’s often a very good chance that it’ll be poorly written, full of bold, rude characters and just plain trash.  But I was delighted that this series was none of those things.

The series seems aimed at the primary school crowd.  Most 8 year olds could easily read these books on their own.  Oh but why miss out of the fun.  Read them aloud to everyone.

It’s a shame it’s such a girl oriented series but having said that I’ll certainly be reading them aloud to my boys.  I think they’ll still enjoy them.

At present there are only four books available in the series.  Each book introduces a character and a time period.  According to the website they plan to have four books for each character.  The second book for each character is due out in May sometime.

So far I’ve read three of the four titles and enjoyed them.  I’ll be reading “Meet Rose” tonight.  Actually, I think I might go and do that now.  Sorry readers, books to read…must dash.  🙂

IMG_0138 (Small)

Oh, before I go, I also found a great looking pdf file full of teacher notes to go with this series.  Could come in handy.  Thought I’d share.

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2011 in History, My Library

 

9 responses to “Our Australian Girl – A New Book Series

  1. Kirsji

    April 19, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    This is awesome! My daughter and I have been reading the American Girl series and we love it!

    THEN … her Canadian penpal told us about the Our Canadian Girl series so we looked online and picked up the Elizabeth books.

    NOW … we learn of an Australian series!

    Thank You!! 🙂

     
  2. April

    April 20, 2011 at 6:34 am

    We are embarking on our Australian History studies soon. This would be perfect. Where did you buy your copies? Thanks for the teacher notes 🙂

     
  3. Tracey

    April 20, 2011 at 8:41 am

    I found my copies at Big W believe or not and fairly cheaply. Love Big W book section.

     
  4. Bernadette

    April 20, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Oh i’ve seen these advertised in the scholastic bookclub catalogues(i have an account) i think. – I thought they might be similar to the “My Story” and “My Australian Story” series, I LOVE them, am so glad we’ll be able to get them from Big W! sooo much easier! I picked up a great looking book of Aust. storiesfrom big w.
    “The ABC book of Great Aussie Stories for Young People” by Bill ‘Swampy’ Marsh. was about $13 and has a map at the front, with the location of each of stories settings (i assume)
    Am looking forward to reading it properly, AND heading back to get these new titles too! 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      April 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm

      I always check Big W for recent kids books. If you can find them there they are always much cheaper. Same goes with Scholastic book club. I always check Big W before ordering. Our store seems to get the same books in around the same time and they are always cheaper at Big W. It always pays to check first.

       
  5. April

    April 20, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Perfect, going to town tomorrow so I’ll have a look in Big W…

     
  6. Kelly

    April 23, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    OO These would be great for us!! When we get to Australian History, I will have to pick some of these up.

     
  7. Mandy

    October 9, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    These look great,perfect for next year with a 9 year old Dd. Fantastic review as always.

     
  8. Tracey

    October 9, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Oh they are. The last 4 books in each of the sets was published this week so you should find them in store this week or next. We get ours from Big W as they have the best price.

     

Leave a Reply

 
