RSS

Term Two’s Dailies Books

02 May

I’ve been tweaking our Math Dailies book again.  I know.  I can’t leave well enough alone.  But I did have a good reason for the tweaking it.

IMG_1438 (Small)

Last term’s book was just too much.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I made new Dailies books last term.  I had so much stuff on the page that it was taking the boys more than 30 minutes to complete their page.  Now this might not sound like a huge amount but when you combine it with their normal Singapore Math lesson and exercises plus their skip counting, addition and multiplication fact review, it became just too much to do each and every day.  To make it work we had to cut back our Dailies work to twice a week which really defeated the purpose of a “Daily” book.

IMG_1457 (Small)

What is the purpose of our Dailies book, you might ask?  I believe that skills should be practised regularly to strengthen and cement them.  So I made these books, using Math Resource Studio, for the boys to use to practise their facts and algorithms briefly each day.  The idea being that it was a simple, quick and DAILY task.  Clearly I forgot the original idea somehow last term.

IMG_1456 (Small)

Consequently I ditched the old Dailies books and made new ones.  Brief being my key goal.

 

Ethan’s new book (top book) has:

-two addition with regrouping algorithms

– two subtraction with regrouping algorithms

– two multiplication algorithms

– and two long division algorithms (I’ll have to teach him that tomorrow.   Wish me luck!)

 

Brayden’s new book has:

– two addition with regrouping algorithms

– two subtraction without regrouping algorithms

– three multiplication facts

– and two division facts

IMG_1439 (Small)

Ethan also has one word problem to complete each day.  Once Brayden is a more independent reader he’ll also have a problem to solve.

IMG_1440 (Small)

The books are all printed, bound and ready to go.  Phew!  Hopefully this is a better fit for us.

If not, you’ll know it didn’t work out when you have to read about tweak 3 next term.  Hehehe.

 


 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in Mathematics

 

4 responses to “Term Two’s Dailies Books

  1. Missy

    May 3, 2011 at 8:15 am

    Hey Tracey, I had the same problem as you … way too much over planning! Where’d you get the word problems from? I thought I once found a website that generated word problems, but if it really did exist, it must have got lost in the black hole of my bookmarked pages. 😉
    Happy start of term, Missy.

     
  2. Tracey

    May 3, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Finding word problems is not easy. I pull mine from old textbooks. I wish I could find an easier source. I LOVED the old Singapore Challenging Word Problem books but they no longer publish the originals. There’s a new version out but it’s no where near as good from what I’ve seen in samples. If I find a good source of word problems I’ll definitely share as I think word problems are THE most important Math skill. Solving problems is the whole purpose of Math.

     
  3. Missy

    January 3, 2012 at 9:05 pm

     
  4. Tracey

    January 3, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Worksheetworks is great! I use their pages for all sorts of things. Their word problem pages are relatively new. They’re pretty good but very straight forward. I hope they include some more challenging problems down the track. Fingers crossed. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
