RSS

PyraMath – A Review

07 May

The boys have been playing the card game, “PyraMath” which we were given for the purpose of reviewing.   They have quite enjoyed it.

IMG_0745 (Small)

It’s a great little card game and relatively easy to learn and play.  You select a card from the pile and place it over two cards on the playing area that equal the number on your card.  You have the choice of adding, subtracting, multiplying or dividing the two numbers to equal your card number.  This makes it a little challenging for the younger crowd who are just learning their number facts but it would be great for students who are more confident with their facts.   At this point my Little Men (aged 7 and 9) found all of the options in the game play (being able to add, subtract, multiply or divide) a little overwhelming without some guidance but still enjoyed playing.  The winner of the game is the first person to create the pyramid shape, hence the name PyraMath.

IMG_0724 (Small)

My boys wanted to play PyraMath together,  however it can also be played alone.  I like that it can be played both ways.  My boys facts are still in the process of being cemented in their brains so we found, with the two player version of the game, the waiting player had to wait quite a while for their turn.  At this stage in their learning I think the single player game would be ideal.

These options and flexibility are a feature of PyraMath that appeals to me.  I’ve enjoyed reading through their PyraMath Wiki page and seeing the variations of the game that we could try.

IMG_0758 (Small)

PyraMath is definitely a great tool for practising and reviewing your number skills.  It’s a wonderful brain training exercise for many ages and a game I can see my boys utilising a lot more when their number skills are more firmly in place.

IMG_0763 (Small)

My eldest commented that it was a pretty good game but it would be better on the computer.  Well wasn’t he surprised when I showed him the online version.  He really enjoyed that, although I know he enjoyed playing with the cards with his brother too, particularly since he usually won.   His younger brother thought the game would be much better if he won occasionally.  Hehehe.

IMG_0772 (Small)

After playing PyraMath, we’re keen to look at some of the other cards too.   The Prime Bomb game looks very tempting.   Ooh so does the Fractazmic game.   So many great products to choose from.  Decisions, decision.   Thankfully with such low prices we really don’t need to make a decision.  We could get them all!!  Tempted?  I am!

 

 

 

(I was given a free pack of PyraMath cards in exchange for my honest review of the game.  My review is my own opinion based on our experience with the PyraMath cards.  I’m sharing this review with my readers in case there is someone who could benefit from knowing about this product.)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2011 in Mathematics, Reviews

 

3 responses to “PyraMath – A Review

  1. bernadette

    May 8, 2011 at 12:34 am

    how do you get contacted for your reviews???

    i think it would be wonderful if WE were contacted for reviews LOL 🙂

    WOW! if i didn’t know any better i would’ve sworn in your first profile shot of your boys that they were twins 🙂 Ethan will have to start eating more vegies 🙂

     
  2. Julie

    May 8, 2011 at 9:02 am

    I love how your son on the left looks so sad. 😥 This game looks really neat! We need some practice with math facts.

    I wonder also how you get contacted for reviews?

     
  3. Tracey

    May 8, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Most of the reviews I’ve done I’ve just been contacted by email through my contact button on my blog. This particular product I contacted them for during a promotion I saw on another website.

    Oh and if I had a dollar for every time someone asked if the boys were twins I’d be a millionaire. Hmmm…maybe I should start charging. They are very similar. I always say, “peas from the same pod”. Hehehehehe.

    Yes Brayden was distraught about losing yet another game of PyraMath. Heheheh. And no the photo wasn’t posed. It was the real thing. Classic hey. Hehehehe

     

Leave a Reply

 
