RSS

A Gift Idea for Grandparents

09 May

A few years ago I was desperately looking for a gift idea for Hubby’s Grandma.  Grandparents generally don’t have many needs or wants so buying for them can be hard.  Often they don’t want more “stuff” either.  So I came up with a gift idea that she was sure to love, that wouldn’t clutter up her home, and that would keep on giving throughout the year.  “What was it?” you ask.  It was what we call a weekly photo letter.

The initial gift came with a display folder filled with plenty of clear pockets, her first photo letter of the week and a little note explaining that she would receive a photo letter just like this one every week.  Great Grandma was very pleased with her gift.  But as the weeks passed she was even more delighted as she realised that these letters would indeed keep coming.  Something as simple as a letter became one of the highlights of her week.

Since that first photo letter gift, we have given two more of these presents – one to my Nana and one to my Mum.   It doesn’t take any additional work to print out three letters instead of one.   Each recipient receives the same photo letter.  I keep the letter to one A4 sized page, generally including 4 photos on the page with an accompanying caption explaining what was happening in each photo.  Since I take a lot of photos during the week to document our school, there are usually plenty of photos to choose from and the captions are only ever about 2 to 4 sentences long.  In total the photo letter would take me about 10 to 15 minutes to create each week.   I do this as part of my errand day routine – I make my grocery list, collect the library books together and create, print and address the photo letters.

It just occurred to me that our children could easily create these photo letters each week.  It could be one of their weekly writing tasks and would make the letter even more special.  Hmmm…great idea.  The boys will probably disagree with me of course.

I realise I should have shared this gift idea prior to Mother’s Day but it only occurred to me today that others might like our photo letter idea.  But hey, there’s still Father’s Day, Christmas and probably some birthdays left in the year…plenty of opportunities to bless our Grandparents.

IMG_1667

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2011 in Family Life

 

3 responses to “A Gift Idea for Grandparents

  1. April

    May 10, 2011 at 11:50 am

    What a lovely idea! It is so hard to buy for those who seem to have ‘everything’… This is so special!

     
  2. Jen in NSW

    May 10, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    My mum would love this idea. She lives far away and it would make a great “brag” item for her.

    Pity I don’t have the habit of taking many photos but it looks like something I will have to try doing.

    Best wishes
    Jen

     
  3. Tracey

    May 10, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    I keep the camera on the school table or close by so I can snap photos all the time. Even the mundane stuff will be a beloved memory years down the track. But remembering to pick up the camera was a habit I had to train myself into.

     

Leave a Reply

 
