RSS

What it Normally Looks Like

31 May

A week ago it was immaculate but time and life restored it all to its natural state.

The desk has attracted the usual stuff.

IMG_1932 (Small)

The boys have left their bedroom in a state…although I’ve seen worse.

IMG_1933 (Small)

The kitchen is okay but the dishwasher has died and I’ve had to start hand washing.  The horror of it all.

IMG_1934 (Small)

The table would be okay if we put our school stuff away and fixed those place setting and chairs.

Oh yeah the floor could do with rescuing too.

IMG_1936 (Small)

Books are as always multiplying in the lounge and hubby’s laptop has not been put away.

IMG_1937 (Small)

Laundry is always on the go but doesn’t that ironing pile look high.

IMG_1939 (Small)

Oh and I’m only letting you peek in the doorway of the play/toy room.  That mess on the chair is stuff I should have put away but haven’t.  Oh and those clothes up there have been dry for days.

IMG_1940 (Small)

So there you have it.  Pop in unannounced and this is what you’ll face…real life.  Not pretty is it.  But when I’m busy reading to my boys, watching over math and language lessons and preparing meals, I tend not to see it.  As long as there are clean dishes, clean clothes and less than an hour of housework to get it back to presentable, I’m happy and no one else seems to care.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2011 in Family Life

 

3 responses to “What it Normally Looks Like

  1. Missy

    May 31, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Gosh, I wish I could say something sympathetic, I really do. But that mess don’t scare me! Not even a smidgen. Double it (I have 4 kids) and then multiply it by some other number (not zero, one or a fraction) and that’s where we’re at this arvo. Really need to clean up by bedtime – it’s dh’s first day back to work tomorrow and I’ll need my sanity without distraction. 🙂

     
  2. Missy

    May 31, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Oh, I do sympathise about the dishwasher though. Mine died 12 months ago and while we went ok for a while, I am hanging out to replace it. Maybe by the end of this year. *cross fingers and eyes and wish, wish, wish!*

     
  3. Tracey

    May 31, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    It’s just what you don’t get to see behind the blogging curtain. By the end of today it got worse. Such is life.

    Oh the dishwasher…brings a tear to the eye. ..Undecided whether to bother getting the dishwasher man to come and look at it (price may be near the price of a new one) or to replace it (don’t like spending money that could be used on books!!) or not replace it at all. For just the four of us it’s not a big deal to keep the sink with water in it and wash as we go. But the ole dishwasher days were nice. It made the dishes so nice and spiffy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
