RSS

The Sequel to “Bringing Them Home” is here!

02 Jun

I’ve just finished reading the much awaited for “As For Me and My House” by Elizabeth Wiens. It did not disappoint. Not one little bit. I read it slowly wanting to savour every bit of it.

IMG_2033 (Small)

“Bringing Them Home” was a fictional story about a Christian family and their decision to homeschool their four children. “As For Me and My House” continues the Knight family’s journey into their teen years exploring how homeschooling changed their way of looking at the world. Elizabeth says it best (of course) in her new book, “their decision to homeschool was only the first step in a journey that would entrench their family in an ongoing battle to walk counterculture to the world around them (p. iii).” What I want to know is, “Elizabeth, how do you know exactly what has been going on in my mind?!”

Youth groups, “Christian” rock music, modest clothing, girls desiring to be wives and mothers, dating, teen pregnancy, large families and courtship – these are all topics that are integrated into “As For Me and My House”. This book will challenge your thinking on topics that society says are normal and have you wondering about and maybe seeking other possibilities.

I desire an alternate God honouring lifestyle but wondered what these ideals would look like in a family. “As For Me and My House” helped me to see how this lifestyle could be lived out. Making the leap to further embrace such a countercultural way of living is no longer the unknown abyss. Thank you Elizabeth for this insight and the confidence to more boldly go where not enough people have gone before.

Elizabeth’s new book, “As For Me and My House” is more than an entertaining, informative read. It’s a book that challenges and prompts you to reach out to grasp more for your family. This book deserves a place on your shelves. It could be the book that changes the course of your family’s life or gives you the motivation to move forward. It certainly has pride of place on my shelves.

Mothers of daughters, I urge you to get this book… because I’ll be needing two wives, just like the ones described in “As For Me and My House” for my boys!! Hehehehe. No, seriously!  Mothers of sons, there’s lots of wisdom in this book for us too!!  I’ll be reading it a second time!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in My Library

 

10 responses to “The Sequel to “Bringing Them Home” is here!

  1. Missy

    June 2, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Oooh, I had to resist clicking on those links as I just know, at least one of them, will take me to the book depository website where they send you “free” books with just the click of a mouse!

    BTW are you heading again to the Lifeline Book fest in June?

     
  2. Tracey

    June 2, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Nope you’re wrong. The links go to Amazon. Heheheh. Don’t resist the urge. The mouse knows what it’s doing.

    And no again. I’m not going to the bookfest. Shock horror, I know. I’m being super duper good this year. Well I’m trying. It’s going to be tough.

    Plus I’m at the point where I have a preference for specific titles. And I need to leave some good stuff for everyone else to find. It’s only fair. Are you heading there Missy? It’s a great day out for book lovers.

     
  3. Missy

    June 3, 2011 at 8:41 am

    Oh, you’re funny! Amazon indeed!

    I really want to go, really. But first it’s a big long drive, both ways (tired) and then it’s in the big city (scary) and I’ll be all alone (alone). Talked to my local homeschooling buddies and they are keen to go next Feb(?) but I’m feeling impatient. It’s also on a crazy busy weekend which would make it a bit loopy for me to pursue, however…

     
  4. Tracey

    June 3, 2011 at 9:25 am

    Oh I feel your pain Missy. (The next one’s in late January by the way so not quite as long to wait).

    I drag hubby usually as friends can say no but hubby has to say yes…doesn’t he? Well mine does. Some men bring their wives chocolates and flowers, mine knows to bring me books and not to stand between me and a bookstore. It could get ugly. Hehehe. Which is why hubby was a little concerned when I asked him to restrain me from changing my mind about the bookfest. Hehehe. The intervention might not be pretty but it’ll be good for me…right???

     
  5. Jeanne

    June 3, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I’ve not heard of these books before. Maybe I’ll hover my mouse near a link as well…

    Thanks for comment on my blog!!

     
  6. Tracey

    June 3, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Hovering’s no fun. Clickety-click ladies, that’s where the fun is to be had. Hehehehe.

    Just don’t ask my credit card statement. Surely it lies.

     
  7. Tracey

    June 3, 2011 at 9:55 am

    And I don’t even have one of those affiliate program thing-a-mi-jigs. Silly me.

     
  8. Missy

    June 3, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Oh, I forgot to put my application in earlier. I have one daughter…

     
  9. Tracey

    June 3, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Hehehehe…oh good, only one more to find.

     
    • Bernadette

      June 4, 2011 at 7:38 pm

      Lol, I have 4 daughters. And i hope they all find boys as sweet as yours….
      🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
