RSS

‘Making’ Capes – Well That’s the Plan

19 Jun

Remember my last sewing project?

Well I’ve worked up the courage to tackle my next project – capes.

IMG_2129 (Small)

I'm making the white one in the middle

Brayden requested the capes and of course that means one for each.

I’ve procrastinated about this project for…well…two months.  Yes the pattern and materials have actually been sitting in the cupboard for that long…and the sewing fairies have not turned up and made them for me.  I’m no longer a believer in elves who sew!  Or perhaps they only do shoes.  I don’t know.

Now you’re expecting to see two shonkily made capes at the end of this post, aren’t you?  Well hold your horses!!  First I had to tackle the pattern.  I haven’t even got anyway near the sewing machine yet!!

It took me one whole night to translate the pattern instructions into English with my many how-to books at the ready.

IMG_2128 (Small)

Then another couple of days to find the strength (or insanity – whichever the case may be) to actually open out the pattern…and then promptly put it away for another day.

But last week I bit the bullet, open it all out and set to work cutting out the pattern.  How hard can it be?!  Really??!!

IMG_2127 (Small)

But I needed two different sizes.  Ahhh.  Gee willy winkies!!

I decided that I had two options – cut out the large one and then cut it down to the next size for the smaller cape OR trace a second copy of the pattern in the smaller size.  I went with option B, just to make my life trickier.

After that I needed a strong cup of tea, let me tell you!

I looked at the brown crushed velvet waiting to be transformed and proceeded to carefully fold up my work for another day.

One can’t rush these things

…even if there is a birthday coming up that I need them made for.

IMG_2130 (Small)

Perhaps I’ll give those elves one last chance…


 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2011 in Family Events

 

4 responses to “‘Making’ Capes – Well That’s the Plan

  1. Ra'chel

    June 19, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Yay for capes! [I hope that made you feel better. ;)] Capes are fun and when you are done sewing them, I’m sure the wearer will feel very medieval-ish in them. 😉 You must post photos of them too!
    blessings and happy sewing!

     
    • Tracey

      July 6, 2011 at 11:24 pm

      Oh yes there will be pictures if/when I get them made. Hehehehe. I’m running to Mummy for help at present. Heheheh.

      PS. Sorry your comment took so long to appear Rachel. Gremlin problems with my spam filter.

       
  2. Erin

    June 19, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Tracey
    My cloak here looks very similar and I did it without a pattern, you may find it easier
    http://sevenlittleaustralians.blogspot.com/2009/01/rangers-apprentice-cloaks.html

     
    • Tracey

      July 6, 2011 at 11:22 pm

      Oh I wish I’d seen your comment before I’d cut out my capes. Yours look so easy! Sigh. That’s a post all of its own. I sewed one small stretch and then admitted defeat. Stretch material!! I’m taking it to Mum’s house. I need desperate sewing help. Bit off more than I can chew I think. Hehehe.

       

Leave a Reply

 
