RSS

Loving My Binder Machine

27 Jun

I thought I’d introduce you to one of my favourite tools…my comb binder machine.

My binder machine has had a good workout over the years.

I use it for all sorts of things.

*  I’ve bound blank pages together to make little drawing/note books for the boys and moi.

*  I’ve bound flashcards together to keep from loosing them.

*  I’ve bound the boys’ stories and pictures together to make little books

*  I’ve created and printed our own workbooks for school

*  Every year I make my own homeschool diary and bind it up

*  I bind my Homeschool Registration and reporting and make it look nice and spiffy

*  And of course I’ve printed and bound numerous ebooks too.

IMG_2188 (Small)

Oh yes and my family and friends have found plenty of uses for it too.  Mine is a commercial version so it can tolerate a fair bit of use.  Even my boys use the binder machine to bind their bits and bobs together.

I store my machine in the bottom of our office cupboard so if the boys wish to use it it’s easily accessible to them.  It’s really very heavy for its size.

IMG_2189 (Small)

The only improvement I found necessary was the addition of a protective covering for the metal prongs that your comb sits on as you binder your pages together.  In my mind I could just see a small child falling and injuring themselves on these so with a few pieces of discarded plastic stuff from Grandad’s shed we made our own cover.

IMG_2190 (Small)

Of course a comb binder isn’t a vital homeschool tool but boy is it handy to have sometimes.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Resources and Organising

 

5 responses to “Loving My Binder Machine

  1. Elsa

    June 27, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Oooooo, I want one! I was just lamenting the other day how nice it would be to have a laminating machine, but I too, can think of multiple uses for a binding one, e-books just one of many! Hmmm….Thanks for sharing!

     
  2. Tracey

    June 27, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    OOh love laminators too…oh and long armed staplers…actually most office supplies. 🙂

     
  3. April

    June 27, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Your binder is a beast! I have a small comb binder that I couldn’t live without…and a laminator and a long armed stapler…no wonder hubby has banned me from going to Office Works 😦

     
  4. Sheryll

    June 27, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    I have binder envy of the Proclicks they sell in America that I’ve seen on some homeschooling blogs. The advantage is that you could open your back partway and open the binding, add papers, then close it again. The disadvantage is that you can’t label the side. Apparently they don’t fit A4 and I haven’t seen the cheaper home version here. I got my comb binder at Aldi’s! I sooo need a long-armed stapler!! I am adding that to my list! The cover you made for the metal prongs is great, I’ve often wished for something like that, I don’t know why they don’t come with one.

     
  5. Tracey

    June 27, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I put office supplies on my wish lists. Mum reckons she feels silly wrapping up long arm staplers for birthdays. Oh and the big pencil sharpener – not electric but with a handle….but I love them more than the usual gift ideas.

    Banned from Office Works. You poor thing. Not even to browse. Mine is Amazon. Hubby gets a twitch when I mention the place. Heheheh.

     

Leave a Reply

 
