RSS

Singapore Math

04 Aug

I looove Singapore Math.

We made the decision to homeschool when the boys were babies so I’ve had plenty of time to assess my various Math options and Singapore Math was always top of the list.  Even after looking through the programs friends have raved about I haven’t wavered on my decision.  Yep, I’m very happy with our choice.

What did I want in a Math program?  Most importantly I wanted a program that was rigorous and challenging enough that it would see my boys all the way through to university Math if that was their choice.  I know there are glitzier and more fun programs out there but I am wary about choosing an easier option in case I’m limiting the boys’ options at the other end.  Does that make sense?  Singapore Math is renown for its strengths in teaching conceptually, teaching students mental strategies for solving problems and its strong focus on problem solving.  What’s not to love!  Hehehe.  Okay so I’m a bit of a Math nut.

If you choose Singapore Math, I’ll be truthful and tell you it’s not the easiest choice.  But never fear, the good stuff is worth the effort.  It really is.

First you’ll need to figure out which books you need.  Generally the books are a year or two ahead of your standard grade level.  That is, if your child is in grade 5 in Australia, you may find that you are using level 3 or 4 in Singapore math.

For each year level you’ll need 6 books.  Yes, six!  Assuming you’re using the Primary Math 3rd Edition…there seem to be a stack of other versions nowadays and I know little about them.  My theory is that new isn’t always good though.  Personally I’ll be avoiding the new versions.  The 3rd edition books are what the Aussies tend to use as they only contain metric measurements whereas the US versions have both forms.

IMG_2664 (Small)

First Semester's Worth of Books

 

Back to the 6 books…There are two coursebooks (A and B) which are like the teaching texts.  You don’t write in them.  For each coursebook there are two workbooks that the children work and write in.  So that’s 4 workbooks for the year.  Are you still with me?  These are the only books you ‘need’ to run the program.

Now if Math isn’t your thing, or  the problems are getting trickier and you’d like the answers, or you’re  not confident with the way they approaches Math or you just want a few extra teaching ideas, you might like to get the Home Instructor Guides.  There is one for each coursebook, so that’s two per year level.   Do I use them?  Ummm…hanging head…no.  But then again I’ve taught these grades levels in the classroom so it’s not new to me.  My suggestion is to buy at least one.  Buy the A book for your level and see if you use it.  Some people swear by them and some people find they hardly ever use them.  Try one and see which type of person you are.

Now there are also lots of supplemental books available.  These books are additional resources.  Don’t buy them all and expect your poor students to complete them.  Poor little mites!  Each resource has a different audience and purpose.  If you have a student who’s not quite ready to move on or a student who needs to cement some concepts, then Extra Practise for Primary Mathematics is for you.   You might not necessarily work from the front through to the back of this book.  My youngest however is doing just that.  He’s speeding through his work but his brain is outracing his fine motor and reading skills and he’s gonna fall off his Math perch if I let him proceed at this break neck pace.  So this term he’s working through an Extra Practice book while everything catches up to his brain.

IMG_2660 (Small)

For students who are flying through their work and who need a bit more of a challenge then Intensive Practice will suit them nicely.  I used these with my eldest.  I don’t like to move onto a new concept unless the old one is firmly cemented in their noggins so I would flip open to the chapter that linked to what we were doing in our course and work books and Ethan would apply what he had learned to trickier tasks.  If he had a firm grasp on the concept then all would go well.  If not, I’d know that his foundations were a little shaky and we had work to do.

IMG_2658 (Small)

My absolute favourite supplemental books are their Challenging Word Problem books.  Word problems are the most important part of Math.  To solve problems is the reason we learn Math.  No point in having Math skills if you can’t apply them to the problems you encounter in your world.  The word problems in these books will make you think.  They are great practise!  At one point these went out of print and I was beside myself.  I was kicking myself that I didn’t dig up the money tree in the backyard and buy all of the books for both boys for the rest of their schooling career.  Luckily they seem to be back in print and they look pretty much the same from what I’ve seen in the samples.  So I’m desperately trying to get that money tree growing.

IMG_2661 (Small)

I did stumble on another Singapore word problem book but it’s not as good as the other, in my opinion.  There are literally only 70 problems.  One problem per page and the rest of the page is for working out.    If I could only buy one book this wouldn’t be it.  But since we’re big on word problems and we devour problems them so quickly we bought it and…

IMG_2659 (Small)

…stacks of others.  None of these have anything to do with Singapore but I like to get a good mix of problems so that the boys are used to different approaches.  Experience is the key to word problems.

Yes that’s a Naplan test book you can see below.  Hey their word problems are really good.

IMG_2669 (Small)

Now back to Singapore Math.

Oh yes there are computer CD Roms you can purchase to supplement the program too!  We have two of them but we’ve found we didn’t use them enough to warrant buying more of them.

IMG_3324 (Small)

People often complain that Singapore Math doesn’t have enough review.  But you see with so many additional books for purchase you can create a program that works for your students. If you need extra practise then you buy extra books at the appropriate level.

The other complaint I’ve heard is that there aren’t enough facts and algorithm practise.  (Algorithm is just a fancy work for various sums – addition, subtractions, multiplication and division).   I agree that there isn’t enough of this in the books which is why I make my own “Dailies” books for each boy.  They practise their  algorithms most days of the week so eventually they’ll become second nature to them.

Now don’t hold this against Singapore Math.  You have to consider the market that the books were created for – classrooms.  Most classroom teachers plan this kind of work in addition to their textbooks.  It’s like buying a writing curriculum…of course you’re still going to need to teach them handwriting and grammar and all that other stuff.  Well that’s how I see it.

IMG_2667 (Small)

We memorise and practise our facts every day.  At present we’re doing speed tests.  The boys have a mix of 48 multiplication facts that they complete correctly as quickly as they can, competing only against their own times.  Ethan’s got his time down to 2 minutes after only two weeks of these task.  You see I believe you HAVE to memorise your facts.  From experience I’ve seen that children generally don’t “get” them just by using them over time.

IMG_2666 (Small)

So there you go – with the Singapore core program, perhaps some Home Instruction guides and a supplemental book or two and definitely some regular word problems, facts and algorithm practise, you’ll have a pretty spiffy Math program – and that’s before you add in all the icing on the cake – computer programs, games, living books, hands on fun etc.

A point to remember though is to make sure you have a nice firm foundation.  If it’s all icing and no cake then you’re not going to have enough substance to see you all of the way through.

One final point to share.  Math is a skill based subject which means that it should be taught and practised every day for the best results.  Inconsistency is more often the problem than the program or students.  Just another observation.

So get stuck into it.  Math requires some work.  That’s just how it is.  But Singapore makes my work a little easier and I appreciate that.

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2011 in Mathematics

 

10 responses to “Singapore Math

  1. Jen in NSW

    August 5, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I am a Singapore Maths fan too. I use the Course book but not the Home Instructor’s Guide. Maybe that is because we are only up to book 3 here and I may need it further down the track.

    One thing I do like is that the course book doesn’t dictate the words to use. I use plus and add interchangeably due to where I was schooled and I want my kids to know both terms. I do the same with all the functions, mix the terms, so they are comfortable no matter how something is asked.

    We have a Word Problems book here but I have not used it enough myself yet to get the hang of the exercises. My eldest wouldn’t cope with the extra work load though.

    And by the way we are loving the Math Resource Studio, thank you for recommending it.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

     
  2. Tracey

    August 5, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    I’m the same with using terms interchangeably. You have to be familiar with all the available terms. Particularly important with word problems.

    With the word problems, at present we do one a day. I find that pretty manageable and it keeps us moving forward.

    Glad you like the Math Resource Studio. It’s a real hero here.

     
  3. Erin

    August 6, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    We have used SM for years, but I didn’t realise there were all the extra support books!! This year we have been taking a break and using maths online, but I am not happpy, my finger is not on the pulse. so planning to go back to SM. btw where do you get your SM from? I haven’t been happy with my previous supplier.

     
  4. Tracey

    August 6, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    I’ve been buying them from Christian Books but they don’t seem to be stocking the 3rd edition anymore. A friend is trying the old U.S. edition so I’ll be keen to hear what she thinks. The only other place I’ve been able to get the 3rd edition books from is Chariot Press and they over charge and take too long…in my opinion. So I’ll probably have to switch to the U.S. ones. They apparently have little difference – they add in their measurement system while keeping the metric form. Other differences are things like using commas in their numbers and dropping the “and” when writing number names. If you find another place that suppliers 3rd edition books I’d be keen to hear it.
    Oh and the supplemental books are all for the U.S. edition. There aren’t any in the 3rd edition form.

     
  5. alecat

    August 6, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Great review for SM!
    We’ve been using these book (3rd ed) for 2 yrs now, and they’re working so well.

    I also didn’t know about all the extra publications; what is the title for the speed math drills you use with the times tables, please?
    My daughter is 1/2 way through 3B and could use some extra practice.
    My son has started the high school books : NSM.

     
  6. Tracey

    August 7, 2011 at 9:20 am

    The Math drills aren’t Singapore. They are from Schoolhouse Technologies.

    The Dailies books I make with a purchased program which is fantastic – Math Resource Studio. It does everything you can think of except do the work for you. Love it.
    http://www.schoolhousetech.com/MathWorksheets/Default.aspx

    The math drill pages are from the same company but from a free resource they offer. The resource is no longer the same but they do have an alternate one you could use. It’s the free Lite version of the program about. You can check it out and download it here:
    http://www.schoolhousetech.com/BasicMath/Default.aspx

    I love the Math fact drill program as I can set whatever parameters I want and it makes it for me. I tell it what operation we want, mixed or not. I tell it what numbers to use, it does it. I determine horizontal or vertical, answer line or not, how many sums and in how many columns. I can even press one button, keep all the same parameters but refresh the facts so I can have a different yet similar activity every day. Brilliant!

    Ten minutes before we have to dash out the door to church. I better get a hustle on. Hope this helps.

     
  7. Jen in NSW

    January 31, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Tracey, just had to tell you that Math Resource Studio has an evaluation copy out now. Wow, it includes fractions, geometry, tables and drills, time, patterns, puzzles… I love it.

    Back to printing out work pages for next week.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

     
  8. sharynpdavis

    September 21, 2017 at 12:11 pm

    Hi! Reading this in 2017! And looking for HS stuff. So guessing you are up to there now. Do you have any suggestions??

     
    • Tracey

      September 21, 2017 at 12:41 pm

      For the grades 8-10 there’s Singapore’s “Dimension Maths” (we used this one) and “New Elementary Math”. After that, there’s no Singapore Math options available that I know of.

       
  9. mondurand

    September 27, 2017 at 8:25 am

    for HS there is also New Syllabus Mathematics 🙂 https://www.educationreformation.net/new-syllabus-secondary-maths

     

Leave a Reply

 
