RSS

Preread The Literature!!

05 Aug

Golly gosh I learned this lesson well today!  Luckily I hadn’t handed the book to the munchkins to read unsupervised.  I was reading it aloud and as my eyes always scan further ahead I saw what was coming and could stop before any damage was done.  Up until that point we were really enjoying the book, although I’d skipped most of the nasty language.

But boy oh boy!  Do children’s books really need to include suggested ped.. oph,, ilia (intentionally skewed to keep google from linking me to that word)?!!   Perhaps it’s historically accurate but it’s totally unnecessary and does more harm than good.  Children’s authors need to stop and remember that their audience are children!!  Their world doesn’t need to include this.

Since we’re already part way through this book and were quite enjoying it, I’m going to plod carefully forward, skipping anything I deem objectionable.  But I wanted to give other unsuspecting Mums the heads up on this book.

Reader beware!

IMG_2632 (Small)

 

5 responses to “Preread The Literature!!

  1. Julie

    August 5, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Wow, I wouldn’t want to come across that in our literature!

     
  2. Tracey

    August 5, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Admittedly it’s only suggested but it’s more than enough for me.

     
  3. Elsa

    August 6, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Oh, I hate when that happens. There is so much trash in children’s books today. I’ve come to pre-read as many of my kids readers as possible, just so I know what they’re reading. As least with read alouds I tend to skim my eyes a bit further ahead also, but still…what were they thinking? geesh.

     
  4. Erin

    August 6, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Oh yes, a few of Farrer’s books have ‘issues’.

     
  5. Tracey

    August 6, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Rats! Cause I have a few of them.

    I need to make a decision about whether to keep it on the shelf or ditch it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
