RSS

31 Days to Clean – Day 6, 7 and 8

07 Aug

Day 6:

Mary Challenge:

Write out my Six List and accomplish it.  That’s just a fancy way of saying ‘make a to-do list’ with 6 things on it that you accomplish in order.  I did that for today and I have to do it every day this week.  Well I don’t have to but I choose too.  I think it’ll be a wonderful habit if I can establish it.

Here’s today’s Six List

1.  Bring towels in off line, fold and put away

2. Wash a load of sheets and get them back on the beds

3. Tidy cupboards, drawers and pantry as per the challenges

4. Tidy my school desk if I can find it under the piles

5.  Put the folded washing away

6.  Do some ironing even if it doesn’t all get done

So far I’m up to number 6 and as always it’s the biggest obstacle.  But in my defense I did iron for an hour last night while listening to Dr S. M. Davis’ audio.  But I HAVE to complete number 6 OTHERWISE ironing has to go to the top of tomorrow’s list.  Urk!  What a way to start a “to-do” list.

Martha Challenge:

Today we had to clean out the cabinets.  Since mine were all in good shape this was easy…well as good a shape as you can make some places.  For instance how do you improve the saucepan/appliance cupboard?  Everything we use regularly is easy to get at and it’s not falling on my feet when we open the doors.  Oh and I grabbed the screwdriver and fixed the loosen door hinge while I was there.  Do I get extra points for that?

IMG_2729 (Small)

This is where I keep my occasionally used odds and ends – vases, platters, bowls, serving sets, moulds, trays, jugs… oh and you’ll see our paint brush stash there too (being right near the sink it’s the perfect storage place).  Most of these items are such odd shapes that you just can’t make them look tidy.

IMG_2728 (Small)

An area that could be decluttered is the cupboard above the fridge.  Does everyone have one of these?  A bits and bobs cupboard.  Giftware we could call it.  Various mugs, decorative egg cups, candle holders, souvenirs glasses and the like.  Hardly any of this junk is mine and since the owners of the junk won’t part with it, it lives in the cupboard I can’t reach above the fridge.  One day when no one is looking….hmmmm…a girl can dream….heheeheh.  They’d never even know.  Heheheh.  *evil grin*.

IMG_2733 (Small)

Under the sink was good.  No need to do anything there.

IMG_2727 (Small)

I did get up on a chair (something short people have to do often) and move the mugs around.  There never seems to be enough room at the front to store the ones I’m putting away.  I decluttered in here a while back.  Both being teachers, hubby and I had a LOT of mugs.  Please don’t give teachers mugs.  Notice hubby’s out of colour scheme cups.  What was wrong with the green theme I had going.  Imagine how tidy it would look.  But I suspect God paired me up with hubby so I could live a little and keep mis-matched mugs in my cupboards.

IMG_2734 (Small)

See, this cupboard is good too.   I just tossed out a few glasses that were overflowing into other areas.  I’m sure they multiply in there.  But give the rest time and they’ll part from this world in shards and chunks as glasses seem to do.

IMG_2726 (Small)

Day 7:

Mary Challenge:

Read Romans 8: 20-21.  Okay.

“For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God”

What is the hope in the curse?  To be liberated and become children of God.

Martha Challenge:

Cleaning the pantry was easy as I did it just a few weeks ago (Seems like I did everything just a few ago, July must have been more productive than I thought!)  I handled everything.  Checked expiry dates, wiped surfaces, add items to the grocery list, and put order back in the cupboard.

However, sitting here thinking about it I decided that I do need to declutter the bottom two shelves of the pantry.  There are empty containers in there that are rarely used.  Old lunch boxes that don’t need to be taking up space.  Plus, those things that I do use are hard to get to.  Yes, this will have to go onto my Six List for sometime this week.  I might even do it once this post is published.

IMG_2730 (Small)

Day 8:

Mary Challenge:

When has God refined my character through difficult circumstance?  Oh boy.  Many times but the biggest was when our third child returned to heaven and I lost the ability to have more children.  God’s hand was on our lives then more than ever.  He refined me through that journey and bought me out whole and ‘new and improved’.  That is a pivotal point in my faith journey and I’m very thankful to God for the work He did in my life…and continues to do. 

Martha Challenge:

Cleaning out drawers…this I did need to do!

The cutlery drawer needs wiping out – done!

IMG_2723 (Small)

The utensil drawer…well this mess can speak for itself.  Yes it all came out of one drawer.

IMG_2718 (Small)

I found these little trinkets in there – a butter curler, zester and melon baller.  You know how useful these items are!  Hehehe.  Notice their ‘I’ve never been used’ sparkle.  That says it all.

IMG_2720 (Small)

Oh and an assortment of alcohol related items.  We don’t drink though.  Nor do we serve alcohol…unless they bought their own.   Hardly useful items in this house.

IMG_2721 (Small)

Sadly, after a declutter, the utensil drawer didn’t look much better.  Oh well.  At least I’ve been reacquainted with the stuff living and multiplying in that drawer.

IMG_2722 (Small)

The placemat and tea towel is always fairly neat.  Not enough in there to create a mess.  (How boring is it to look through other people’s drawers.  Hehehe.  You’re fascinated, right?)

IMG_2724 (Small)

Oh and the mandatory junk drawer.  Well it’s not exactly junk.  It’s mostly the stuff that hubby says to put somewhere safe because we might need it.   You know the kind of thing – the spare screws, the extra hose attachments, a few million different allen keys etc.  Plus a few tools for in the house fixing.

I found the name of that great glass scraper thingie…it’s a “Cooktop Scrapers”.  See the pack there?  Oh and who doesn’t have a pack of Sparklers lying around somewhere.

IMG_2725 (Small)

My plastic ware is kept in a jumbo drawer which is great.  Normally it’s just tossed in there but I went through it all and tossed out a stack of stray lids that belonged to nothing, plus a few drink bottles and old stained chinese dishes.

IMG_2731 (Small)

I didn’t touch the baking drawer.  You can’t make that look any better than it already does, such is the nature of trays and pans.

IMG_2732 (Small)

So there you have it.  My kitchen completely revealed to the world, all in the name of cleaning.

Oh and to prove that I haven’t put my clean kitchen under lock and key, look what I whipped up for my men – chocolate chip biscuits.  Nothing makes a kitchen smell better than baking treats for your men.

IMG_2737 (Small)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2011 in Family Life

 

5 responses to “31 Days to Clean – Day 6, 7 and 8

  1. Jen in NSW

    August 8, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Lovely drawers and cupboards. I am not so sure I would want to join in on this challenge. It would take too much time out of my day.

    How are you getting school done as well as all this cleaning?

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

     
  2. Tracey

    August 8, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Well so far all of the big stuff has happened over the weekend. I think I’ll be skipping bigger stuff during the week and putting it on the weekend. Or doing little bits of the bigger things each day. I don’t think it matters at all as long as we are doing something towards the goal. Like today I’m washing my bedroom curtains. There are five of them so I’m taking down one a day. I can manage that. The dust however…that is harder to manage. Hehehehe. Well best get back to school.

     
  3. Michelle Downunder

    August 8, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Dear Tracey,
    It is encouraging to look at my door. I tool a sabbath day yesterday. I wrote my 6 list. I haven’t finished the kitchen cabinets yet. I will work on them after dinner.

    Keep up the good work.

    Smiles

    Michelle

     
  4. Michelle Downunder

    August 8, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Dear Tracey,
    It is encouraging to look at your kitchen cabinets. I took a sabbath yesterday.I wrote my six list. I haven’t finished my cabinets yet. I will work on them tonight.

    Keep up the good work.

    Smiles

    Michelle

    Ps. Sorry it’s written twice I submitted the first one without editing.

     
  5. bernadette

    August 9, 2011 at 1:40 am

    i wonder if your little (and big) men have been giving you strange looks for taking photos of your kitchen drawers? 😉 lol

    i was distressed by reading of your loss,as i had been thinking of our own losses recently . i am relieved to see that you have found some peace, as we also have. It is times like this that i wish i had your faith. 🙂 as i feel, if i was capable of your faith i would have more peace. 😦

    speaking of faith, may i ask, who is ‘Martha’?? Surely it’s not martha stewert???i’m assuming i know who ‘Mary’ is…maybe?
    We sooo badly need a good cleanout, but i’m thinking that hopefully moving the next 3/4 months will sort that out lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
