RSS

Welcoming Our Latest Pets – The Silkworms

22 Aug

Early last year I asked God about the prospects of finding us some silkworms to raise and then left Him with it.  (He’s the very best curriculum planner if you didn’t already know.)

Then last week my dear friend Bella offered us some silkworms and I jumped at the chance.

Thank you God and your dear servant Bella.

IMG_3420

Not only did Bella provide the critters she’s also providing the mulberry leaves.

Oh her poor mulberry tree.  I fear, between her silkworms and mine, we’ll strip the poor thing bare.

IMG_3402

I couldn’t believe how many silkworms turned up at my door.  I was expecting one or two but there are hundreds, quite possibly a thousand.  Fun times a thousand!

IMG_3412

They are sooo easy to care for.  Just change out the paper lining occasionally, remove the dried holey leaves and pop a fresh leaf on top of the feeding critters.

IMG_3421

Each day you can see them getting larger and larger.

We’re so excited to be watching their life cycle.  We’re actually thinking of purchasing our own mulberry tree to grow and continue breeding these critters.  It’d be really nice to be able to share these little fellows with other homeschoolers and my sister would like a continual supply for her classroom too I’m sure.

IMG_3425

Oh and there’s still plenty of eggs to hatch!

We’re going to have silkworms coming out of our ears…well hopefully not literally.  I did dream about the little critters crawling all over me in my dreams the first night.  Heheh.

IMG_3417

Hopefully these little fellows will spin some handsome silk cocoons for us.  I’ll keep you updated.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2011 in Science

 

3 responses to “Welcoming Our Latest Pets – The Silkworms

  1. Bernadette

    August 23, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I remember having silkworms in grade 4 (at that same school i told you about 😉 ). I don’t remember them being that tiny, but i do remember a lot died over a weekend (perhaps a long one??) and i remember they produced a liquid of some sort which reminded me of calamine lotion, ALL over their little ‘houses’ lol i also remember wondering what on earth i was supposed to do with these silk coccoons after we were done 🙂 good luck with them and i look forward to your progress

     
  2. Angelique

    September 12, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    Hello silkworm supplier extraordinaire 🙂 Thank-you for sharing the excitement with us!

     
  3. Tracey

    September 12, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    My pleasure Angelique 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
