RSS

Round and Round the Mulberry Bush…

27 Aug

In the rain we headed to the park.

IMG_0424 (Small)

We ran past the hissing goose,

IMG_0426 (Small)

hustled by the protective Mummy (or is that Daddy) swan

IMG_0427 (Small)

and their ugly ducklings…

IMG_0441 (Small)

…I mean delightful cygnets

IMG_0438 (Small)

to get to the Mulberry Tree.

Not to dance around it but to pick leaves for our silkworms.

IMG_0428 (Small)

I found this tree the other day when I listened to the ‘Small Voice Within’ and trekked to an out of the way place to be rewarded by the perfect tree which is full of ripening Black Mulberries.

IMG_0429 (Small)

Then home we headed.  Isn’t this what most people do with their Saturdays?  Hehehe.  Hubby didn’t think so.  He thought we were nuts.  Perhaps we were.  Hehehe.

IMG_0430 (Small)

But we have LOTS of silkworms to feed so we’ll have to do this trek regularly.

I’ve set up the old fish tank to house our silkies so they have more space to grow and we can stop and view them more easily throughout our day.

IIMG_3477 (Small)

They are growing at an incredible rate at the moment.  Two days ago most of them were almost one centimetre long.

IMG_3485 (Small)

Yet today many of them are approximately one and a half centimetres in length!

IMG_3521 (Small)

If it weren’t for the torrential rain in the afternoon we would have planted our own Mulberry Tree that we purchased earlier this week.

IMG_0416 (Small)

King White Shahtoot Mulberry Tree

My purchase was almost a disaster.  We asked for a dwarf mulberry and they gave me the King White Shahtoot that grows to ten metres with nasty invasive roots (although the white mulberry would have been divine to eat!).

IMG_0418 (Small)

Thankfully I googled it before putting it in the ground and thankfully the nursery happily swapped the tree for a Dwarf Red Shahtoot that only grows to three metres and will fit nicely in the area we’ve selected.

IMG_0422 (Small)

Dwarf Red Shahtoot Mulberry Tree

I can’t wait to have our own Mulberry Tree to dance around…oh and we might pick the mulberries and enjoy a sweet feast too.

IMG_0421 (Small)

That’s how we spent our Saturday morning.

How did everyone else spend their day?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2011 in Family Life, Science

 

9 responses to “Round and Round the Mulberry Bush…

  1. Jen in NSW

    August 28, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I am sure you will enjoy the mulberries. Are chooks on the books too? I always put the two together considering that is how my great aunt had them at her place. Pink egg shells!

    Remember the green ones crushed on stains are fairly good at removing the stain.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

     
  2. Tracey

    August 28, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Our mulberries are the red variety so they don’t stain like the black or so I’m led to believe.

    I’ve pondered chooks but we edge onto bushland and with several brown snake scares already I’m not keen to provide a food source for the snakes.

     
  3. bernadette

    August 29, 2011 at 12:50 am

    well well well, black swans!!! lol take that western australian tourist guides!! every touristy tour we’ve had, has said black swans are only in wa 🙂

     
  4. Tracey

    August 29, 2011 at 9:37 am

    There’s at least two nearby parks that have at least five or fix swans at each. Unless they aren’t “black” swans but some very closely related species. I dunno. Hey, I was lucky to be able to recognise that they were swans. Heheheh.

     
  5. Susan

    August 29, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I’m no expert but those are black swans. My understanding is that we only have black swans in aust- and I know they are found in QLD and NSW from personal experience… and no doubt probably every state. I have never heard of WA having a monopoly on them!!

     
    • Bernadette

      August 30, 2011 at 12:27 am

      LOL, that’s what i’d always thought – that they were only Aussie, but having personally never seen them elsewhere and them being on the state flag and all, i just took them at their word 🙂 After living here for nearly a year (has it really been that long already!!??) i’ve found WA’ers to be quite possesive and proud of their ‘stuff’ not keen on sharing with the lower eastern states 😉

       
  6. Tracey

    August 29, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    These couple of swans don’t much like me so WA is quite welcome to them actually.

     
  7. Kylie

    August 30, 2011 at 8:13 am

    oh Wow Silkworms, that brings back fabulous childhood memories for me 🙂 I must add this to the list for the kids.

     
    • Tracey

      August 30, 2011 at 2:06 pm

      Well if you would like some I have another batch that hatched this morning. I have them coming out of my ears!! I’m looking at them thinking – gee whizz – these are all going to turn into moths and then have a couple of hundred eggs each!! Woah!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
