RSS

The Composer is Dead

19 Oct

How many times did you go to the orchestra with your class at school?  I remember going once in my twelve years of school.  As a result I never really had an interest in or appreciation of a real live orchestra.  I reckon I was jipped.

IMG_0544

But thank goodness for homeschooling.  Every year for the past 8 years I’ve been to at least one (sometimes two) orchestral performances a year.  Oh yes, I let my little men come with me too.  Hehehe.

IMG_0555

Today we went to the Queensland Symphony Orchestra’s performance of Lemony Snicket’s “The Composer is Dead”.  This was the second time we’ve seen this performance and we loved it just as much if not more than the last time.

IMG_0556

With an extra year of maturity my boys better understood the numerous puns.

Their favourite:

“The composer is dead.  This is called decomposing.”

My boys laughed out loud at this.  Okay, so did I.  Hey, it’s funny.

IMG_0561

If you are looking for a performance that will introduce you to the orchestra then this is the one.  It’s not solely a murder mystery (which I won’t spoil for you), the detective also introduces you to each  instrument of the orchestra and their role as he hears their alibi.

IMG_0558

Of course if you can’t get to a real life orchestral performance of “The Composer is Dead” then your second best option is to purchase or borrow the book with accompanying cd.

We bought the book and cd AND went to the live gig.  You can’t get too much of a good thing.

IMG_0560

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 19, 2011 in Music

 

Leave a Reply

 
