RSS

In Love…With My Kindle

09 Jan

Who’d have thought…

That I would fall desperately in love with the device that is killing real life bookstores and the very real enemy of the printed book.

IMG_7344

It’s true.  I love it!

Rest assured dear books in my shelves, there is always a prime position in my heart for you too.

What do I love about the Kindle?

…Me, who until late last year, did not want one of those ‘awful’ book-killing devices.

Well, for one, I can carry a whole pile of books with me in my bag  wherever I go.

My beside-the-bed pile is not nearly as towering as it has been in the past.

There are also free books waiting to be found…admittedly some of them are duds but if you are prepared to dig deep you may just discover a gem.

No more printing of ebooks.  I hate reading on screen.  Anything more than one screen length and I’ll print it to read it.  Shhh, don’t tell my Hubby.  He hates when I ‘waste’ printer ink.

The e-ink screens are amazing.  I didn’t imagine it would look so much like a book.  I couldn’t understand the hype until I saw one for myself.  They are GOOD!

I love the ease of highlighting and making notes…remember, I’m not a fan of writing in books.  In my mind it’s criminal.  But ‘writing’ in a Kindle is perfectly acceptable and highly encouraged.

OH and it has a dictionary.  I just have to move the cursor to the word and it puts the definition at the top or bottom of the page.  No one really ever gets up and pulls out the real dictionary, but moving a cursor is easy peasey.  No more skipping over words because I’m too lazy to look them up.  Hehehe.

Hey, I can even set it to read to me if my eyeballs get too tired.  Yes, really.

Oh and when you get old, like me, you can make the text as big as you need.  Hehehe.  If grandparents could use this new fandangled technology it would be perfect for them.

The most intriguing part of Kindle reading, or any e-reader reading I suppose, is that it makes me focus more.  Don’t ask me to explain it.  All I know is that focusing only on the text on that one section of a page helps me ‘see’ it.  Generally I’m a speed reader, reading for the general gist of a text and not all the minute details.  It’s who I am…a big picture gal, and not a nitty gritty details gal.  But this Kindle thingie is doing odd things to my reading style.  I’m focusing more.  I can’t see how much I’ve read, how much more I’ve got to read, the neighbouring page or even everything on that one page.  I can only see and read the one section in front of me and for some reason I’m ‘seeing’ it in an altered way.  Reading the Bible on the Kindle is fantastic as a result.  I’m not scanning or skimming but slowing down and letting the words marinate in my mind.  Have any other e-reading folk experienced such a thing?

Do I think e-readers will be the death of printed books?  I hope not.  I’ve found the Kindle great for fiction and non-fiction novels and the Bible but I don’t like it at all for picture books of any kind.  I have an iPad for colour reading and I still feel like I’m missing the magic of the illustrations and photos.  Maybe time will change my mind, but at this point I’d be devastated if the printed book died out. But who knows.  I didn’t think I’d ever want or like one of these ‘printed book killers’ either but here I am making room in my heart for my new beloved.

IMG_7349

It’s only downfall is that it’s not gorgeous like a bookshelf and you really can’t decorate your house with them.  But in its defense, it doesn’t collect dust either so I suppose I can overlook it’s only flaw.  🙂

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2012 in My Library

 

9 responses to “In Love…With My Kindle

  1. Missy

    January 9, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    You forgot to mention how long the battery lasts on one full charge and how you can read the kindle even in bright sunlight.

     
  2. Tracey

    January 9, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    OH yeah that too…however I find that my built-in case light does drain my kindle pretty fast.

     
  3. Erin

    January 10, 2012 at 5:35 am

    Tracey
    I received an ereader for Christmas and much to my surprise have also ‘fallen in love’.

    check out freebookspot for LOTS of books!!

     
    • Tracey

      January 10, 2012 at 10:59 am

      Heading over there now! Cool. Thanks.

       
  4. JoAnn

    January 10, 2012 at 6:16 am

    I still haven’t decided about an ereader yet, and when I do think of one, I lean toward the Nook Tablet. But something you said interested me, it can ‘read’ the book to you? The biggest reason I haven’t gone with an ereader is because I LOVE audio books. I can work on my crafts while ‘reading’ at the same it. So when the Kindle does the reading, is it like an audio book? If it is, that would interest me going to an ereader.

     
    • Tracey

      January 10, 2012 at 11:16 am

      Oh you wouldn’t want to listen to the whole book read to you on the kindle. It’s a computer reader so it comes with its usual stilted voice…but you can choose a male or female voice. Hehehe.
      My Kindle – the Kindle 3 (Keyboard) – does have audio book capabilities but you have to buy the audio version of the book (it’s linked to Audible). I believe it’s a rare breed which is exactly why I selected it. Plus I liked the ease of the keyboard.
      There is a relatively major issue you have to consider when you are choosing between Kindles and all other e-readers. The Kindle uses its own unique format so books purchased from anywhere other than Amazon are in the wrong format. For most people they would avoid Kindles for this reason. Me, I figured that Amazon has way more books than all of the other places combined PLUS my clever hubby found a free program that you can put on your computer that converts any file you want into Kindle format. So far we have found absolutely no obstacle we couldn’t overcome with the Kindle. But it’s important to consider when choosing between the two- Are you prepared to jump through a few hoops to own a Kindle or would you prefer the easy life and a few less book options? Both are great. My dear friend Susan got a Sony e-reader and swears by it so you can’t go wrong.
      Of course, if you have no intentions of reading a book on an e-reader and just want audio stories then maybe you need an iPod. That’s what we use for audio stories. We can plug it into the stereo in the house or the car (with extra cords and do-dads) and continue where we left off in our stories. We love it.
      Ah technology, is there anything we can’t do with it…oh yeah…iron. I’m waiting Mr Bill Gates and Co.

       
  5. Bernadette

    January 17, 2012 at 1:29 pm

     
    • Tracey

      January 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      Oh I’ve seen this. Classic. But don’t the people who made this video have better things to do with their time. Can you imagine how long it too for them to produce this short video.

       
      • Bernadette

        January 19, 2012 at 7:44 pm

        Lol I had the same sort of thoughts 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
