RSS

Art Memory Books

14 Jan

When we first suggested to my Mum that we were going to homeschool, one of her concerns was that the boys wouldn’t have all of those lovely school memories.  She gave the example of a little project book full of preschool artwork that my little brother’s teacher organised for the parents as gifts.

Talk about an easy obstacle to overcome.  By starting these little Art Memory books I was about to prove to my Mum that the boys won’t miss anything by not going to school (well nothing positive) and in fact they would make an incredible amount of memories, many of which family could share in.

IMG_7421

Our Art Memory books are just simple large project books.  I bought ones with a lot of pages so hopefully all of our memories will fit into one book.

As the boys finish an art project I glue it into their books.   Okay, so I’m not that organised.  I usually sit down once a year and glue them all in.   Well not necessarily every piece of work, just the significant or much loved pieces.  The boys always have an opinion on which pieces should and shouldn’t make it into their books.

As you can see from the photos, we’ve been adding the boys’ artworks since they were very small so there’s a lovely progression of work already in these books.

IMG_7422

There are so many ways to collect memories.  Has anyone got some good ideas of their own to share?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2012 in Art and Craft

 

4 responses to “Art Memory Books

  1. April

    January 15, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Great idea…pinned it! Our artwork is in one big ‘messy’ box. I really need to get organised. Where did you buy your books? I think I’ve seen them at Office Works and Big W…

     
  2. Tracey

    January 15, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    I bought my books from Kmart years ago.

     
  3. Heidi Wilson

    January 16, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    I found an art book at Kmart that looks remarkably like these – only with a green cover so I’m planning on getting one for each of the boys. What do you do if there is artwork that is bigger than these books though???

     
  4. Tracey

    January 16, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    I just fold it (halves or quarters) and it becomes a bit like a lift a flap…heheeh.

     

Leave a Reply

 
