RSS

I Bought A Whiteboard Today

18 Jan

We use a whiteboard on and off for different reasons.  Not so much for instruction – this is a homeschool, not a classroom – but as a different medium for things like spelling, number facts, grammar and other lessons where the process is more important than the product.

I’ve had a little portable whiteboard for ages but I left some writing on it, over a period of time, and it left a permanent ghosting of the text.  Cheap whiteboards will do this more readily.  It’s annoyed me for a long time now and I just decided that this year is the year we replace it.

So off to Officeworks I went.

I wanted a bigger board than I already had, a better quality board than I already had and of course a magnetic board.  I actually had a specific board in mind but when I walked into Officeworks I found this…..

IMG_7493

I imagined it would be out of my ideal price range but discovered that it was half the price of the board I had come to purchase.  I was drooling.

No it wasn’t a wall mounted board but this seemed better.  I wouldn’t even have to wait for someone to mount it to the wall for me.   Being portable also gives me the freedom to use it where it is most convenient.

The height of the board can also be adjusted.  That’s definitely more convenient than a wall mounted board.  With this board I can lower it almost to the floor for the boys to use and raise it as they grow or our usage changes.  I love this feature.

IMG_7496

Oh and for double the drool factor, it is double sided!!!  I can have one boy working on each side or twice as much work set out for them.

IMG_7498

Wait!  It gets better!  One side of the board has a clasp where you can hang a flipchart or pad of easel paper.  Nifty, huh.

IMG_7495

And just when I thought it couldn’t have anymore golden features, it came with a carry bag in case I ever wanted to tuck it under my arm and take it with me somewhere.
IMG_7497

Yes, this beauty came home with me.

I suggested that we could start school tomorrow instead of next week.  My students didn’t think much of that idea.  I told them that we could drag their little classroom desks out and place them in front of my whiteboard so we could play school.  They didn’t find that idea amusing either.  Oh they’re no fun.  I’ll have to play by myself then.  🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2012 in Resources and Organising

 

2 responses to “I Bought A Whiteboard Today

  1. April

    January 19, 2012 at 8:51 am

    Copycat!!!! We have the same board. It has been great! We have AAS letter tiles on one side and I scribble things on the other. Enjoy your new whiteboard 🙂

     
  2. Tracey

    January 19, 2012 at 8:58 am

    You knew about this gem and didn’t share. Shame.

    Hehehe.

    What is it that they say about great minds…heheheh.

     

Leave a Reply

 
