RSS

School Book New Arrivals

21 Jan

Our new books for this year have been steadily rolling in over the past three weeks.

The start of school is waaay better than Christmas.  Don’t you just love this time of the year.

Sadly we are still missing our biggest order.  A box  full of Math and Logic books and various goodies.

Sigh.

How will we start school without them?  Oh you’re right.  We shouldn’t.  We should faithfully wait and start school properly with all of our resources.  In actual fact we should wait for the perfect day to start as well.    Heheheh.  Okay, okay, we’ll start next week as planned and it just won’t be perfect.  🙂

Instead of Math we could do art, as our art books have arrived.  I got two of Mark Kistler’s drawing books to go with our online drawing lesson subscription.  We are loving his drawing lessons.  I can actually draw more than stick figures now.  Oh yeah, the boys too.  Heheheh.

IMG_7506

I’m hanging out to start our new faith-building picture books.  These books are beeeeautiful.  They are each allegorical tales that teach a Bible truth.  There’s still one more of these titles to come.  I’ve had them on my drool list for a long time now and I decided that this is the year they came home to my shelves.

IMG_7507

We’re also going to focus on character building more than ever this year.  Recently I read that in the past people strove towards being men of character as their goal in life.  Nowadays our world encourages our children to gather wealth and experience as they climb their career ladder.

Well this year, as my boys grow out of little manhood and towards big manhood, we are making sure our path is aligned to values of old.  We’re aiming our little arrows towards greatness – that is, greatness of heart.  The only kind of greatness that really ‘succeeds’ in life in God’s eyes.

We’ll be reading through the Character Building Kingdom Stories from Pearables.

IMG_7508

We’re also going to read “Boys and Girls Playing”.  It looks delightful.   Anything of old is gold in my mind.  🙂
IMG_7511

This year we’re also studying Vivaldi as our composer.  The Vivaldi Classical Kids cd is our central focus and from there we’ll read whatever else relates.

Oh and “Why Handel Wiggled His Wig” doesn’t have a chapter on Vivaldi.  (Actually I wonder if book one does.  Hmmm…I’ll have to check.)  I purchased this title as we loved the first book and wanted the second before it became hard to buy.  They contain stories about different composers – stories that are a little amusing or shocking that you probably won’t hear elsewhere.

IMG_7509

As Vivaldi lived in Venice we will of course learn about Venice again.  It’s such a fascinating place.  My brother is visiting there at present, for the second time.  He said it’s lovely to the eye but horrid to the nose.  In which case I think we’ll just read about it in books.  Hehehehe.  Sorry to spoil any romantic notions you might have had.

Our collection of Venice titles is a little sparse as there is surprisingly few titles to be found that are suitable and useful.  Interesting considering it’s such a fascinating place.  But this little bundle will start us off nicely.  Who knows what else will fall into our lap as the year progresses.

IMG_7510

I haven’t selected a particular artist to study yet.  We’ll see which artist’s exhibition comes to the gallery and perhaps study them.  At present it’s Matisse but we’ve already studied him and from what I saw of the exhibition it was a lot of nudes.  Hmmm…maybe not.

Just in case it’s an impressionist we choose (okay, mostly because the book looked lovely and was so cheap) I purchased this lovely Usborne title.  You can never go astray with an Usborne title.

IMG_7512

This year I’m also going to set aside a time during school for Ethan to read to himself.  He already does this at night but he tends to prefer computer manuals as his reading diet.  I’m happy enough with this, as he also read aloud to his Daddy from novels, but  at the same time I want to prompt Ethan into more varied and mature reading.  That will be the purpose of our ‘school’ reading time.  Mummy gets to choose the books, since it’s school.  Hehehe.

To start with I have purchased books about spies.  Everything spy-ish is exciting to him at present.  Yep, lure them in… 🙂

IMG_7513

So those are the school books that have arrived so far.  Not very schoolish, are they?  Entirely too much fun stuff.  That’s the way we like it though.

Oh golly gosh.  I forget one.  Hold on.  I’ll have to go and photograph, resize, upload and paste it in.  Give me two ticks.

Tick

Tick

Here they are!  Our “Logic of English” books.  They are brand new – only published in mid December.  They arrived on Monday this week so I’ve been frantically familiarising myself with them, which is how I forgot them.  They were sitting on the lounge where I left them last and not with all of the other school supplies.

I’m really excited about these books.  We’ve tried all sorts of phonic and spelling programs.  Most were okay but none were brilliant and many focused on gimmicks.  The Logic of English teaches intensive phonics and all of the spelling rules.

IMG_7528

When people tell you that phonics isn’t very useful because of all the exceptions to the rule, they are wrong…well, rather, misinformed.  Teachers will tell you this and so will unenlightened authors, but only because the myth was taught to them.  In actual fact 98% of the English language is governed by rules.  The frustration then lies in not exceptions to the rule, but not knowing the rules that apply.

IMG_0628

This is the reference book full of the rules governing the English language. Well worth the money as a stand alone resource.

I have looked everywhere for such a program as this and now it’s here.  “Hand holding in phonic rules and applications”… I mean, “Logic of English Essentials”.   Hehehe.  Now I can’t say it’s brilliant…yet…because we haven’t used it…yet…but I’m hoping and optimistic.
IMG_7529

Now that truly is all of our new books…well until my last box shows up.

We didn’t need new books for History, Science, or Geography.  They were already on my shelves waiting patiently.

So all I need is those Math and Logic books.

Come on Mr Postman.  Surely I’m you’re best customer.  You wouldn’t want to make me cry….or worst still, beg.  😦

🙂  Evil Grin.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2012 in Resources and Organising

 

10 responses to “School Book New Arrivals

  1. Missy

    January 21, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    I may have to stop reading your blog. I really may! Just 30 minutes ago I finished placing an order for some books about composers that we will read this year, the first of them being Vivaldi. And then … I read this post. What do a I see? A whole ‘nother list of books to read… and so now I have placed a second order :-/
    All I can say, is if my husband finds out you are the source of all the good ideas which cause me to spend so much money … you wont see me here again!
    (PS, how bout you just tell me what we will be studying next, and email me the book list – it will save me a lot of time, and probably some money too. Oh wait, maybe it will cost more. I give up!!!)

    PPS My dh downloaded the Sproul books as audio books 2 Christmases ago for our kids. I don’t know from where of if they are still available, but if you take up the challenge, consider that your “punishment”. (lol!) happy searching!

     
  2. Tracey

    January 21, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Hehehehe…I’m laughing so much I’m in tears. Poor Hubbies.

    So tell me…what books did you buy for Vivaldi. What am I missing? Shhh…just between you and I. Our hubbies don’t need to know.

    Audios? For Sproul books? Where? Stand aside. I’m going hunting.

    Oh do you want to know about the other good Vivaldi resource I found? No? That’s okay. I totally understand. You don’t want to know. But if you did, you could go here and scroll down a little…
    http://www.funwithmusic.com/musical-adventures.php I don’t know what it’s like yet but I’ve heard good reports.

     
  3. Tracey

    January 21, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    I found one: http://www.ligonier.org/store/the-lightlings-download-audio/ Only $2. But not the rest. Since I have the books I don’t need them but thought I’d share for other if they are interested. This same site has ebook versions.

     
  4. Tracey

    January 21, 2012 at 5:18 pm

     
  5. Erin

    January 21, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Tracey
    New books so exciting:)
    um just a heads up on the daughter of venice, there is quite an adult theme in there (pr***itution) I imagine though as you would be reading aloud should be able to steer around, just wanted to let you know be on the alert.

     
  6. Tracey

    January 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    Thanks for the heads up. I’ll pre-read it first. I’m pretty good at censoring as I read aloud but I don’t enjoy stumbling across it in children’s books. The books itself sounds intriguing though. But it’s been purchased based purely on the blurb which sounded innocent enough. We’ll see.

     
  7. Tracey

    January 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Just found a great pdf on Vivaldi. Free even. I hear all hubbies sighing with relief.
    http://artsalive.ca/pdf/mus/tour2004/vivaldi2004_en.pdf

     
  8. Lisa

    March 28, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    The Logic of English – sounds great. Have you come across LEM phonics? I wonder if it would be comparable.

     
  9. Tracey

    March 28, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    If you are looking for Australian phonics then I would suggest LEM. I don’t know too much about it as I haven’t used it myself. I have however been to their seminars and seen the curriculum presented and even bought a few of their products. But I haven’t used their full program, only because I’ve always been busy using something else. They do teach phonics and rules systematically unlike many other programs.

     
  10. Leslie

    May 7, 2012 at 6:03 am

    How do you like Logic of English now that you’ve had a chance to use it? I am attending a homeschool conference next month and one of the speakers is from Logic of English so I’m researching before I go.

     

Leave a Reply

 
