RSS

Our Schoolroom in 2012

19 Feb

It has been a long time since I’ve updated our schoolroom photos and, as I promised someone this week that I would do so, here it is…our schoolroom, as it is in 2012.

IMG_8367

Our schoolroom is part of our rather large family room.  I love this space.  It’s perfect for our life.  Boys can be working on school or playing and I can be pottering in the kitchen or hovering nearby.

You’ll notice two wall cut outs in the first photo.  One of these looks straight through to my laundry and the other to my linen closet.  So I can also be washing, folding or ironing (yeah right!  Hehehe!) and still supervise my little students.

IMG_8372

We are very blessed to have this space and all the credit goes to God.

IMG_8371

As you walk down my hall to the school room you’ll pass our Australia map, our timeline and our art supply cupboard.

IMG_8330

If you turn around and look back down our hall you’ll see the bookshelves in the lounge and the shelves further down in the front entry hall.

IMG_8335

Okay, back to the schoolroom.  It’s a bit cluttered but I just haven’t found a better way to keep this area functional and at the same time not an eye sore (without spending a whole pile of money that would be better spent on books).  So I’ve resigned myself to life with functional rather than the clear, crisp surfaces I prefer.

IMG_8368

Let me take you on the tour.

This is our main storage space.  As you can see it is overflowing but I find it works better if I can access things quickly which is why our everyday stuff is on top of the shelves rather than in the shelves.  Okay, so it wouldn’t fit in there if I wanted it to anyway.  Hehehe.

IMG_8374

This is our homemade resource cupboard.  Over the years I’ve made all sort of resources – cards and games – but found that I wasn’t using them because I’d forget about them.  Nowadays everything is in a subject box so, for example, I can  pull out the ‘money’  or ‘measurement’ box and find all the things related to those topics.  This works much better for us.

IMG_8380

This is the next corner of our space.  It’s mostly another storage area but Ethan can often be found here at his computer desk….well unless he wants a fast computer, in which case he wouldn’t use this one.   🙂  There’s two much spiffier computers down in the study if the boys’ need a ‘real’ computer.  Ethan loves having a machine that is all his own though…even if it’s archaic.

IMG_8376

This is inside one of the three drawers of beginning readers.  We have quite the collection.  Hey, this is after I gave away some.  Yes, my name is Tracey and I’m addicted to purchasing beginning readers.

IMG_8381

This used to be our old tv shelf but I recycled it into a school shelf.  The boys like to sit on the mat and work on these items while I read aloud.  They are all nice quiet activities…except the bongo drums obviously.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I bought those!  Clearly I wasn’t thinking!!  Hehehe.

IMG_8377

More cupboards.  I love that our builder used this otherwise wasted space on the outside of the kitchen benches to create cupboards.  It was apparently his wife’s idea…of course.  Hehehe.

I use these cupboards to stash and hide our messy Science and Math resources.  In the Science cupboard we have things like kits, insect catchers, collections, human body models, thermometers, weather instruments, chemistry supplies, binoculars and all sorts of Sciencey things.  In the Math cupboard we keep our flashcards, games, clocks, fraction pieces, scales, hot dots supplies, Math kits, counters, geometry resources and other Mathy things.  Hmmm…it needs a bit of a clean out doesn’t it.

IMG_8379

The most important part of our schoolroom is our couches though.  We spend a LOT of time reading, curled up on the couches or sprawled out on the floor.  Yes, those are bean bags stashed in the corner for those who would rather flop over a bean bag to listen.

That’s my wonderful whiteboard there too.  It’s a new purchase this year and so far it’s been used every day for Math, Phonics and handwriting.  We loooove it.  Why did I wait so long to buy a decent one?

IMG_8366

So that’s our schoolroom, although I should show you pictures of the whole house as we don’t really do much school in this area (except on the couches).  The boys tend to spread out over the whole house to work.  I’ve stashed an old school desk in the playroom and study, and an old coffee table in my bedroom that is the perfect height for writing at if you sit on the floor but even so I still find them sprawled out working on the floor, beds and couches.   Shhh, no one tell the Education Department that we rarely work at perfectly sized desks with our feet flat on the floor.  That kind of ‘out of the box’ thinking is way too radical for them.   🙂

IMG_8370

Oh and in case you are feeling deflated that your school area isn’t as tidy as mine, here’s what it looked like yesterday…and not JUST yesterday.

IMG_8333

Ummm…I’m ashamed to say that the desk looked like this for about two weeks and the floor was often covered with something, always some sort of toy.  So thank you my dear readers for giving me the motivation to clean up my schoolroom.

IMG_8297

My little men thank you too as it means they can enjoy messing it up again.  🙂

IMG_8382

 
 

4 responses to “Our Schoolroom in 2012

  1. Bernadette

    February 20, 2012 at 12:34 am

    It’s looking good as always. I was wondering how your timeline was going. I can see you are steadily filling it up 🙂 I love the Subject boxes, so simple and yet so obvious. I have been slightly avoiding our cupboards after the little girls got into them :/ everything got pulled out and mixed up, while everything has been re sorted the cupboard is still in shamozzles lol. Maybe this will motivate me 🙂

     
  2. Erin

    February 20, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Love your timeline, and I really like the idea of your kitchen being so central.

     
  3. Lisa

    February 6, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    Hi 🙂 inspired to set up a timeline. Are you still enjoying yours?

     
  4. Tracey

    February 6, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    Yes. As we read about new times or people we add new cards. We don’t add cards for every single thing but generally the bigger stuff so our timeline growth might not be as rapid as others.

     

Leave a Reply

 
