RSS

You Know It’s Going To Be A Good Day When…

05 Mar

…there are a pile of parcels waiting at your front door, full of books of course!

IMG_8694

Little men divided up the parcels and tore into them

IMG_8695

…well one little man tore into his parcels.  Ethan painfully opened his parcel at a snail’s pace.  We were on the edge of our chairs.  It was killing us.

Ethan was concerned about its contents as he knew the supplier didn’t sell books he would think were fun.  He asked, “What terrible danger lies within?”.  Heheheh.

IMG_8696

This is what we received.

“Vivaldi and the Invisible Orchestra” – this is a book I had pre-ordered earlier this year to supplement our Vivaldi reading.  It was delightful.

IMG_8704

“The Priest With Dirty Clothes” – a book that was on backorder from earlier this year was a truly delightful book.

IMG_8705

When Ethan finally opened his parcel, he found a Life of Fred elementary title.

Recently I’ve read about people using these books as interesting read alouds rather than their sole curriculum.  My interest was piqued so I thought we’d have a closer look at one.  Ethan was curious too and asked to read some of it straight away so that’s a good sign.

IMG_8703

After opening our goodies we piled up the books we wanted to read our way through, all snuggled up on the lounge together on this rainy Monday.

IMG_8697

Yes we did some schooly looking stuff too…later in the day once we’d had our fill of reading.

Rainy days are designed for reading you know, not Math…or so we think.

IMG_8707

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in Homeschooling Days

 

5 responses to “You Know It’s Going To Be A Good Day When…

  1. Bernadette

    March 6, 2012 at 1:53 am

    Ooh we don’t have that LoF, Is that number four? After dogs? Interesting,
    yep, ours are just used for fun reading too. 🙂 little monkey, we borrowed a friends set, and he was enthused, I waited until he got to the first bridge, and passed with flying colours. We were all in aggreeance, yes let’s order them…. I kid you not, the DAY they turned up on our doorstep, he says to me ” I’m bored of Fred, can I do something else? UUUUUGGGGGHHHHHHH! Lol *sigh* at keastcthey are still being read. 😉

     
  2. Bernadette

    March 6, 2012 at 1:55 am

    Oh I just noticed your time tracker, does it work with your little man?? I’ve looked at them so many times, I wondered whether it would be just another distraction?

     
  3. Tracey

    March 6, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I can’t give you an answer on the time tracker just yet. Believe it or not we’ve had it for ages and ages but never used it. The instructional manual got put in the, “I’ll read that later” pile and well later didn’t come until much MUCH later. So we’ve only been using it properly for a few days. I’ve set it so that it’s green for ten minutes (Ethan usually wastes that time), then orange for 15 (giving a sense of urgency and hopefully enough time to finish the task) and 5 minutes for red (which is panic stations time). Heheheh. I have ours set so it doesn’t make any noise other than the completed time limit (rather than each time it changes colour). So far it hasn’t been too much of a distraction. You don’t do anything to it and it’s not that exciting to look at so he glances at it and then moves on. Time will tell how well it works. I’ll keep you informed.

     
  4. April

    March 6, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Oh, I love receiving books in the post! I have soooo many Book Depository book marks 😉 LoF is popular in our house as a reading book, but I could never use it as a core. I haven’t seen a time tracker before. Where did you buy it? Let me know if you find it useful, it might assist my son with his time management “issues” 🙂

     
  5. Tracey

    March 6, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    The Time Tracker was bought from Scholastic Book club. They had it in the teacher book one year. It may still be there. It’s made by Learning Resources. It may be at places like MTA and Educational Experience. I’ll let you know how it goes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
