RSS

I Have A Problem With His Reading

19 Mar

He won’t stop!!

I found him like this nearing midnight!!

And you wonder why he always has bags under his eyes.

IMG_8891 (Small)

You see he has to turn his bedroom light off at a reasonable hour, but obviously I said nothing about the bathroom light.  At least he’s not reading under the covers by torchlight, wrecking his eyesight.

It has been suggested that he should be writing book reports on each of the books he reads.

I reckon that’ll fix the problem!

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Family Life, Homeschooling Days, My Library

 

4 responses to “I Have A Problem With His Reading

  1. Kirsji

    March 20, 2012 at 1:51 am

    Uh-oh, he found a loophole!

    My oldest son was just like that at that age! He had a light in his closet and I would often find him curled up in there past midnight, reading away!

    I was never sure if I should be proud of him or angry that he wasn’t yet asleep :).

     
  2. Jen

    March 22, 2012 at 1:14 am

    I wish I had that problem. 😦

     
  3. Sheryll

    March 22, 2012 at 10:29 am

    I have a reading question…do you require your boys to read aloud to you? How often? I have readers for him but I debate just handing them to him vs having him read them aloud to me. I read somewhere that reading aloud is good for brain development. He reads so well that sometimes I wonder why I am doing it. 🙂 Thanks for any advice.

     
  4. Tracey

    March 22, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    Sheryll, we do have both of our boys read out loud to us but it’s no longer part of school for Ethan now that he reads fluently. He now reads aloud to Daddy each night after bedtime stories. Reading to Daddy is like a reading graduation prize for my boys. They pick books they’ll both enjoy and Daddy sits back and lets Ethan take his turn at reading to him. Reading aloud has been great for Ethan’s fluency and expression. Hey, I’m training them up to read to me in my old age when my eyesight fails me. Hehehe. Seriously though, my boys love having Daddy as part of their reading growth. I think it helps boys become life long readers too if their role models read with them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
