RSS

From Gold Coast to Goondiwindi

07 May

We’re back!!

What?  You didn’t know I had been missing!!

Well we left town and drove 5 hours out to Goondiwindi

IMG_9503 (Small)

to spend 10 hours in a pub.

Why?!!

Oh I asked myself the same thing many times, particularly as the hours ticked by ever so slowly.

IMG_9508 (Small)
But it was Great Grandma’s

IMG_9529 (Small)

90th birthday party so we had to be there.

IMG_9514 (Small)

It wasn’t a totally foreign and uncomfortable weekend.

We thoroughly enjoyed the ten hours of driving.  We listened to several audio stories – War Horse, Farm Boy (the sequel to War Horse) and The Hatchet.

We overtook numerous road trains

IMG_9628 (Small)

and caravans…and then had to re-overtake them after we stopped at rest areas.

IMG_9609 (Small)

No, no portable dvd players needed in our car.

Our little men are great travellers and there’s always so much to see outside the windows.

IMG_9586 (Small)
We loved the fields of cotton.  Field after field passed by.

IMG_9619 (Small)
Farmers were in the process of harvesting the cotton

IMG_9604 (Small)

and preparing the bales for transport.

IMG_9606 (Small)

I suspect the boys and I will research cotton production this week, while we’re all so interested in it.

IMG_9618 (Small)

So that’s where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to.

I’m so glad to be home though and I hope it’s a really really long time before I have to spend time in a pub again.

However we’ve all sorts of driving hopes and dreams for the future.

We’d really like to see more of our lovely country.

IMG_9580 (Small)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in Family Events, Family Life, Geography

 

4 responses to “From Gold Coast to Goondiwindi

  1. Bernadette

    May 8, 2012 at 1:08 am

    Awesome 🙂 hope you are better prepared than my first few days of driving to come here 😉 and congrats to Great Grandma.

     
  2. Elsa

    May 8, 2012 at 9:09 am

    That’s a great little road trip! Thanks for sharing the cotton photos and of course happy belated Great Grandma! Welcome Back!

     
  3. April

    May 8, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Welcome Back! I noticed you were gone 😉 One of my very good friends is called Stacia…I saw it on the cake. I would love to do more travel around Australia, hopefully one day.

     
  4. JoAnn

    May 10, 2012 at 11:41 am

    Sounds and looks like a wonderful trip. So glad you could go.

     

Leave a Reply

 
