RSS

I’ve Held a Saltwater Crocodile!

13 Jul

crocodile and I

See.

Proof!!

You have to believe me now don’t you.

This picture was taken quite some years ago.  I was in my early twenties and visiting an off-the-beaten-track crocodile farm.  At the time I was obsessed with crocodiles.  I still think they are awesome creatures.

Anyway, when we arrived the rogue owner plonked this crocodile down on the canteen table.  It just sat there and didn’t move so we thought it was stuffed.   The man walked off telling us to feel free to pick it up and have our photo with it, so we did. My then 7 year old sister and my 9 year old brother had their photos taken first.  Then I posed for mine and it moved!!  It flicked its tail and tried to swim away in midair.  Well, let me tell you, the photo after he moved would have told a whole different story to this one.

Knowing crocodiles as well as I did at that time, I was well aware of the damage one metre ‘Gertie’ could do to me.  Oh yeah, she had a measly piece of sticky tape on her snout.  I suppose that was supposed to make me feel safe and secure.

Well this experience was only the beginning of this rather ‘interesting’ tour around this crocodile farm. Fear oozed from every pore throughout the visit.  In hindsight it was one of my favourite tours.

Nowadays crocodile farms are so sterilised and ‘safe’ that you might as well stay home and read about them in books!  🙂

 

For your educational benefit, here’s a little blurb about Saltwater Crocodiles that frequent a lot of waterways in Northern Australia.

croc postcard

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Bits and Pieces, Family Life, Science

 

One response to “I’ve Held a Saltwater Crocodile!

  1. JoAnn

    July 15, 2012 at 7:55 am

    That is a cool picture.

     

Leave a Reply

 
