RSS

A Bushwalk with a Twist

22 Jul

On Friday I had an extra student for the day.  My boys insisted that we didn’t do anything that resembled work so I had my work cut out for me coming up with ideas that were work under the cloak of not being work…if you know what I mean.

One idea I came up with combined a lot of different elements into one much loved activity.

IMG_1156

I decided to take the children on a picnic to the bush.

Which child wouldn’t agree to that?!

IMG_1145

We stopped and bought our favourite hot chips on the way there.

At the national park we found a table and over our lunch discussed alliterations.

Then I described our task for the afternoon.

The children each had their own cameras and had to search for and photograph different interesting subjects in nature.

IMG_1195
IMG_1149
IMG_1198

The catch was that they had to create an alliteration for each of their subjects.

So, for example, when they photographed a parrot, they wrote “pretty parrot playing on a perch”

IMG_1187

or for wallaby, the children collaboratively came up with “wary wallaby” and for joey “jittery, jumping joey”.

IMG_1141

We all worked together and had a lovely time moving slowly through the bush paths looking high and low for things that might catch our attention, and laughing over silly alliterative suggestions, while trying not to scare off the wildlife with our giggles.

IMG_1152
IMG_1192
IMG_1174
IMG_1220
When we returned home with our photos and alliterative suggestions the children downloaded their images and worked together to create a Powerpoint presentation of their Alliterative Nature Photography Walk.

IMG_1196
So on a day when they weren’t supposed to be doing anything “worky” they did Language (alliterations), Science (observing plants and animals), Physical Education (several different hiking trails), and Technology (photography and Powerpoint presentations).

And that was just one of the activities I had planned for them.

Ah I’m a sneaky Homeschool Mummy.

Shhh!!  Don’t tell the kids!

IMG_1202
IMG_1167

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2012 in Homeschooling Days, Language, Science, Technology

 

6 responses to “A Bushwalk with a Twist

  1. Bernadette

    July 23, 2012 at 3:13 am

    And by the looks of the second last photo, you can add in map reading too…. Now what subject does that come under?

    🙂

     
  2. Tracey

    July 23, 2012 at 7:16 am

    Oh I forgot about that! Brilliant! Add in Math too as they were busy working out how far I had walked them and which trail was less work on their little legs. They would have liked one of those topography maps that tell you the inclines too. Heheheh.

     
  3. Susan

    July 23, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Wouldn’t map reading fall under geography??!

     
  4. Tracey

    July 23, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Yes. But I also added Math to the suggestion. So it was both I meant. Clearly I didn’t have enough (okay any) chocolate today and my brain is not functioning as clearly as it should. Heheheh 🙂

     
  5. Lauren

    July 25, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Oh my gosh
    TRACEY me and the boys will be on to you

     
  6. Lauren

    July 25, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Oh and we did that math thing with the jobs to

     

Leave a Reply

 
