RSS

The Bee Killer Assassin Bug

22 Jul

Well isn’t that just a scary name for a bug – “Bee Assassin” – especially if you’re a bee!

I found this critter on my bike after Hubby left a bag of garden clipping nearby.

The boys and I were intrigued with the little fellow.  We hadn’t seen anything remotely like him before.

We photographed him from every angle.  I nudged him into position with a small leaf.  He was very slow moving and seemed to happily oblige.

IMG_0813

Then we headed indoors with our photos and pulled our the insect guides to try and identify him.

It was then, to our horror, that we discovered his darling temperament was a cover for a nasty beastie.

And to think I was using a very short leaf to prod him and allowing him to crawl within a centimetre of my finger.  At one point the thought of letting him climb onto my hand crossed my mind.  Glad I didn’t carry that idea out!

You see that proboscisy thing at the front of his head, bent backwards, waiting for his next target?  Well he uses that to puncture and kill his meals.  His favourite being the honey bee, but he’ll happy eat whatever other insect comes along.

Oh and he’s not opposed to attempting an assassination on people too.  They are reported to give a nasty and very painful stab.

And to think I thought he was cute!!

IMG_0808

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2012 in Science

 

2 responses to “The Bee Killer Assassin Bug

  1. Bernadette

    July 23, 2012 at 3:24 am

    Oh a charming wee fellow indeed!
    Do you have many spider books? Are they national, or just state ones? We came across the strangest of spiders awhile ago, if you are willing I should send you a photo of it. 🙂

    It was almost like a hermit crab, and had the thickest, strongest web I have seen in a long time!

     
  2. Tracey

    July 23, 2012 at 7:18 am

    No the spider books I have are south east queensland. Actually we need to add a few more to our collection as we’ve really started using them more and more. We need a native plants one too I think.

     

Leave a Reply

 
