RSS

It’s Been Quite Nippy

09 Aug

Brrrrr!  We really felt winter last week.

Getting little men out of bed (oh and me too) was a challenge.

Yes, we have a heater we could use but have you seen the price of electricity?!

Nope, put on extra clothes and rug up I say.

And so my boys do…well the skinny little critters have to.  They have very little fat to insulate them.  Me…I’m plenty warm.

IMG_1571 (Small)

So when it was really cold last week

(rest assured it doesn’t really get cold where we live – our maximums were between 15 and 18 degrees Celsius)

I let the boys snuggle under a blanket to do their bookwork

IMG_1476 (Small)

…after some freshly baked nice warm muffins for breakfast of course.

IMG_1478 (Small)

So that’s yet another benefit of homeschooling –

You can bring your blanket to school and you don’t have to go out into the cold to get their either…and neither does Mummy!

(My sympathies to my neighbour who, from my nice warm bed, I could hear pleading with her children to hurry up and get into the car before they were late for school.  Dear neighbour, feel free to come over and inquire about homeschooling.)

IMG_1479 (Small)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2012 in Family Life, Homeschooling Days

 

3 responses to “It’s Been Quite Nippy

  1. Sheryll

    August 9, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    Sometimes I wonder if one of the reasons I’m so keen to homeschool my kids is so that I can miss out on the whole rush to school morning routine. I would be so bad at it, especially on cold mornings!

     
  2. Kirsji

    August 10, 2012 at 4:47 am

    Temperature is a funny thing! When I lived in Canada, 15-18 degrees C was wonderfully balmy! Now that I live in Arizona and we see 110 degrees F, 15 C seems downright freezing!

    My kids love having their blankets during school time, too. 🙂

     
  3. JoAnn

    August 11, 2012 at 11:42 am

    We are still in the middle of our hot summer, so thinking of curling up with a blanket right now seems odd. But I love that ‘rug up’, never heard that expression before. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
