RSS

Layers of the Earth

10 Aug

We’ve been reading “A Child’s Geography” this year

(FINALLY!  I’ve planned to read it for two years now and this year I was determined to actually do it).

IMG_1527 (Small)

So when we came to the chapter describing the layers of the earth I felt compelled to join the bloggers’ “layers of the earth playdough” club.  I mean, isn’t everyone in the bloggersphere doing this activity?!  Hehehe.

(To get the vibrant colours I used food colouring gel rather than the usual food dyes)

IMG_1497 (Small)

My delusions of demonstrating the perfectly formed ‘layers of the earth’ sphere were railroaded by men who had their own plans.

They divided their dough and set to work doing things their own way.

I should have made enough dough for three.  😦

IMG_1499 (Small)

Can I suggest that future ‘club members’ leave this task for the last activity of the day?

Because it almost goes without saying that elaborate scenes and stories will be created surrounding their dough worlds.

Thankfully I anticipated the lengthy process and my boys were able to leisurely sculpt and create their afternoon away.

IMG_1502 (Small)

I know other bloggers had fancy detail-perfect continents on their Earths but details-smetails…my men wouldn’t hear of being so unoriginal…despite my pre-conceived fantasies.

IMG_1505 (Small)

My little men were delighted with their worlds

IMG_1510 (Small)

and eager to peer inside them.

IMG_1520 (Small)

Daddy came home at the perfect time and the boys were able to purposefully review their learning by teaching it to another.

IMG_1522 (Small)

Now I know this activity just looks like a bit of fun but it really helped to cement quite a dull concept in our minds.   And that’s high praise from someone who’s not into doing hands on tasks just for the thrill of it.  🙂

Next week we’re reading about plate tectonics.   Hmmm…do I do the crackers and icing activity?  I’ll get a reputation if I keep this up.  🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 10, 2012 in Geography, Homeschooling Days

 

One response to “Layers of the Earth

  1. JoAnn

    August 11, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Looks like fun. I’ve never seen anything like that, but I’m sure it helps cement information about our world.

     

Leave a Reply

 
