RSS

“What I Want to Be”

10 Aug

When I was 12, my class was required to enter a writing competition.  We had to write about what we wanted to be when we grew up.  You know, real original stuff.  The competition had entrants from many schools and yet my entry was selected as the winning piece.

I was surprised with the news on assembly and then had to read my winning entry aloud to my school.  The teachers roared with laughter as I read it.  It wasn’t meant to be a comedy piece but with hindsight I can see how it would have tickled their funny bones.

I won a $50 book voucher for this piece of writing and I remember the careful deliberation with which I selected those books which became the first books in my current book collection.  Yes, this voucher sparked my passion for having wonderful books in my home.

I didn’t think a copy of my entry had been saved but last week my Mum found an envelope of miscellaneous memorabilia when she was cleaning out their garage, and my winning piece was amongst it.

So without further ado –

What I Want to Be

I would like to be a number of different things and my Dad would like me to get a good paying job.  I would like in my spare time to write plays and stories and have them published.  I would also like to be a teacher and teach primary school but before that I would like to do something with my life like work in a shop or to be a secretary.  The reason I would like to be a teacher is because I like children.  I realise that being a teacher doesn’t pay much but it would be something I would enjoy and be good at.  When (and if) I do become a teacher I will NEVER raise my voice or make the children dislike me in any way.  I will teach the kids to respect me and will show them that school can be fun.  I will teach the kids everything I know and try to make them understand their work. I will try not to give too much work and make it boring.  When I have enough money I will build my own school and employ teachers I think are fit to teach my students.  In this school I shall arrange to have installed things such as: a library, a large playground, a safe adventure playground, a computer room, large and comfortable classrooms and any other object (or room) that will make school a lot better.  I wouldn’t mind being rich and being able to have almost anything I like.  I realise that to be rich you must work for it.  I also realise that if I become a teacher I risk the change of being sent somewhere to teach that I wouldn’t like.  But I suppose that is life.

 

Oh and yes I did become a teacher and it didn’t pay well but they didn’t send me anywhere terrible.  Phew!  I bypassed being a shop clerk or secretary butI did have several babysitting jobs though.  Oh and no I never raised my voice in my classroom.  I found it more effective to go quiet.  Hey and I even started my own school.  A very exclusive school with two very privileged students.  Heheheh.   Never raised my voice?  Hmmm…can I remain silent on that one?  Did I become rich?  Well monetarily…not yet but I’m happy to wait and live in hope.  Heheheh.  But rich in true treasures?  Most certainly and who needs more than that.  🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2012 in Bits and Pieces

 

6 responses to ““What I Want to Be”

  1. Jo Puggioni (aka Jo Princess Warrior)

    August 11, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Oh I loved reading this! And yes, you did start your own school. So, you are an aspiring author hey?! Maybe you can do that when your boys have all left the nest?

     
  2. Elsa

    August 11, 2012 at 9:58 am

    REALLY enjoyed that. Read through it with my ds13, who also laughed. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

     
  3. JoAnn

    August 11, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    I really enjoyed reading that and where you are now. How fun.

     
  4. Gin

    August 11, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    I really enjoyed this!

     
  5. Lisa

    August 11, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Priceless 🙂

     
  6. Susan

    August 12, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    What a great composition! No wonder you won! And now wonder all the teachers roared with laughter! Can’t wait to show this to the girls in the morning. I think they will be impressed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
